Eggnog Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This is a really different flavored cookie, but the kind that it was hard to eat just one. The nutmeg sprinkled on the top really helped it all go together. Easy to make. I didn't have anything fancy to pipe out the frosting, so I took a baggie, sandwich sized, and clipped a corner and used that to help make the frosting look prettier. It worked pretty well. Looking forward to Christmas next year so I can make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Good cookie but we didn't detect the eggnog flavor. Would like to try again to figure out why, but would still make a good jelly thumbprint. Watch baking time or they'll be too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Very good! I did not have nutmeg so I did without. I did however add the rum and it was very tasty. Another way I changed was to sub out some of the butter and used applesauce, made for a moister cookie so they went fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I was very disappointed in these. Not much flavor even though I added a bit more rum than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This is a great recipe as is. :) Buuuuut ;) if you are a big eggnog fan I have one suggestion, make the frosting with eggnog liqueur. Yum! Both are great. Love this recipe, will definitely make these again! Maybe with yet another liqueur in the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
These really do taste like egg nog. Easy to make, and I followed the recipe exactly. I used a decorator tube to apply the topping to the completely cooled cookies. The topping really does make the cookie great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Coatesville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This is the second year I have made these for my Christmas trays and we love them. The food editor at the Las Vegas Journal requested a special Christmas cookie to feature and this one immediately came to mind. I will be delivering them to the newspaper tomorrow ad I think they will agree with our review :) After reading some poor reviews, I have some thoughts on what might have gone wrong. Burnt bottoms....oven is running too hot. My oven runs hot so I adjust my temp down. Hard or tough cookie....Over worked dough. You are supposed to cream the butter and sugar and then stir the flour in by hand. Overmixing would produce a very tough cookie. Dry....baked too long. My cookies were done at 11 minutes. Runny frosting....too much rum or not enough sugar or maybe melted butter? With these simple tips, you will experience success. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I LOVE this recipe. I have never had a recipe that is so universally loved and one that I am constantly asked to share. I do find the dough the most temperamental- Don't melt the butter, just soften it (and add a little nutmeg to it.) I also often substitute more rum in the dough instead of vanilla. I use spiced rum in mine which turns out great (and I don't worry too much about adding more!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Best cookies ever. Made as written with 151 Bacardi Rum. Amazing. I had no problem with the frosting being runny. If anything, it was too thick and I live in a humid place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I have made these several times now. It is my families most requested cookie no matter what time of year it is. They are simple to make and taste incredible. I don't find the cookies bland as other reviewers have reported. In fact, it's all I can do to keep my hubby away from them before the frosting is ready. We are very happy with these cookies. Any time we have a party, or cookie exchange these are what I make, & they are always a BIG HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adorabrooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States