Eggnog Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 28, 2003
I am a pretty experienced cook and housewife so I am pretty sure I got the recipe right but these are FAR FAR too rich for us. The frosting tastes like eggnog flavored butter. A total of 3 got eaten in my house the rest thrown away. Thank you to whoever posted it but do not bother making these unless you like buttery buttery buttery cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
A surprise favorite in my office for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELWEEDEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
These cookies were okay. The filling was tasty, and added a nice flavor, but the actual cookies were a bit dry and flavorless. It might have tasted better if they cookie dough has some nutmeg and/or rum in them. It was a little tricky getting the filling into the holes and still making them look good, but manageable! Overall, I would say it was worthy my time that once, but I don't know if I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I took these cookies to a Christmas cookie exchange and they were a big hit. Several people wanted the whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I am a huge Eggnog fan and had tried another recipe just before that which used Eggnog. It didn't taste anything like Eggnog at all unlike this recipe which I have since shared with many people. It will be part of my Holiday Favorites and be made for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Recipe did not double well, turned out very dry. Good cookies, and the icing is delicious. Not a huge egg nog flavor though. Also icied it with a powdered sugar, eggnog icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I made some of these to bring to a Christmas party and to work. People at both ends raved about them! They really do taste like eggnog and the "filling" (more like frosting really) has a great texture. I didn't want to use real rum so I used 1/4 tsp rum extract and 1 tbs water. I was worried about them sitting out if I used milk as suggested. The frosting was still creamy and great, I don't think milk would have made a big difference. Also you cannot use a rounded tsp of frosting on each cookie which is obvious when you see them baked. Just eyeball a small dollop large enough to almost fill the thumb indention and it works out well. These are excellent and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I made these last year and they were such a big hit that I will be making a lot more this year. They taste great. Making them is fun with the rum and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Alot of work for these cookies. Not sure how often I am giong to be making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This cookie is a winner! Go all the way, use the rum, and spread cheer to any lucky person who selects this cookie from your cookie tray. This is a HUGE hit at our Christmas party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States