Eggnog Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
These are delicious and easy to make! They've been a favorite in my house since I first made them about 3 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
These were remarkably easy to make, and taste awesome. I didn't have any nutmeg, so I sprinkled them with cinnamon. I also added a little bit of vanilla soymilk and a second tablespoon of rum to the icing, because the butter made it a little too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I have been making these since I found the recipe here about 3 years ago. My co-workers and friends have reaped the benefits of enjoying these cookies. They are so yummy. I use real rum of course & everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scrappygirl2u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
These were great, and to bring out the eggnog flavor even more, I added 1/2 tsp rum extract and 1/4 tsp nutmeg right into the batter. I melted the butter for the icing, but made it a little to far ahead and it firmed up by the time I was ready to top the cookies with it. So I added a Tbs water, and it was workable then. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Wow! If you like eggnog you probably will enjoy these. I used 1/4 cup butter and 1 stick of ICBIB margarine. I also used 1/4 tsp of rum extract and milk, instead of rum for the frosting. I also used rum extract instead of the vanilla in the cookie dough. I enjoyed these very much, be careful to keep the cookie balls small, because they really are rich especiall with the frosting. I even liked them without the frosting! Thanks will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I have made this two years in a row, and I always receive rave reviews. I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup of shortening. I also used rum flavoring instead of the vanilla. Great taste. Thanks Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
this was very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Delicious! Instead of the icing drizzle recipe offered, I mixed egg nogg with powdered sugar and drizzled over the cookies. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I'm not as impressed with these cookies as other people seem to be. The cookies themselves have a nice texture, but don't overcook them! They get very dry if you let them get even the slightest bit brown on the bottom. As for the taste, they're pretty bland. I'd say they're just a vehicle for the icing, which doesn't taste very much like eggnog. Maybe it was because I didn't use real rum, I don't know. In fact, I used about 1 1/4 teaspoon of rum extract, as opposed to the 1/4 teaspoon called for, and it still didn't have the taste I was looking for. And it's too bad the icing didn't set up firmly. But what did I expect with all that butter in there? If I make these again I'll try spicing the dough up some, and using less butter in the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
I probably shouldn't write a review on these cookies cause I changed the recipe. But they were delicious. I didn't have any rum so I used coconut flavouring in the cookie base and added vanilla flavouring to the icing and everyone loves them. They are moist and tender absolutely delicious. I can't wait to try them with the rum next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States