Eggnog Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I'm not as impressed with these cookies as other people seem to be. The cookies themselves have a nice texture, but don't overcook them! They get very dry if you let them get even the slightest bit brown on the bottom. As for the taste, they're pretty bland. I'd say they're just a vehicle for the icing, which doesn't taste very much like eggnog. Maybe it was because I didn't use real rum, I don't know. In fact, I used about 1 1/4 teaspoon of rum extract, as opposed to the 1/4 teaspoon called for, and it still didn't have the taste I was looking for. And it's too bad the icing didn't set up firmly. But what did I expect with all that butter in there? If I make these again I'll try spicing the dough up some, and using less butter in the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
I probably shouldn't write a review on these cookies cause I changed the recipe. But they were delicious. I didn't have any rum so I used coconut flavouring in the cookie base and added vanilla flavouring to the icing and everyone loves them. They are moist and tender absolutely delicious. I can't wait to try them with the rum next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
This was my 2nd year baking these Cookies for Christmas. I loved them last year and again this year and they are popular with my recipients. The best, unique part is the FILLING (after all, it finally occurred to me that this is a standard sugar cookie recipe. So, to save time this year, I simply quadrupled the recipe to use the same dough for my raspberry thumbprints and also for my cut-outs). Thanks for sharing -- I'll continue to make these each Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I have this recipe in a Christmas cookie cookbook and tried it the first time this year, I think they're delicious and will be whipping up a second batch tonight. Hint: I do cheat a little and use my cookie scoop instead of rolling into balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sweet Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
WOW! I almost didn't try this recipe after reading some of the unfavorable reviews, but I am SO glad I tried it. A couple of things that maybe would have tripped me up might be helpful to others: in step 2 you need to mix the flour in by hand. I was buzzing away with my hand mixer when I caught myself! Definitely make into one inch balls. I thought they were too small, but I was still just shy of yield. I used the end of a wooden spoon to make the indentations, so I wouldn't have to use as much frosting. Lastly, under step 4, mix the ingredients by hand. I started off with my mixer (again) and had to stop myself. Maybe that's why some cooks had runny frosting? So delicious - definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
I found this recipe in the Allrecipes cookbook and used it for a cookie exchange. It was easy to do, with few ingredients and made quite a few dozen at a time. Everyone loved the taste and my husband didn't believe me when I told him there wasn't any eggnog in the recipe. Wonderful Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wonder Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I took this to a Christmas Cookie Exchange and EVERYBODY asked for the recipe. I used the rum extract and the milk and they came out great! Thanks for the recipe. I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Everyone that I had try one said they were okay but didn't taste like eggnog at all. I read so many reviews that said they did so I am wondering if maybe you need to use Rum to get that taste. I used the milk and rum extract substitute. Maybe that makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
Bake for only 12 minutes even though they don't look cooked. I let them bake longer because they still lokked soft and when they cooled they were hard as rocks. Also I think the dough could be less sweet because the frosting is so intense. I would try them again using white sugar and less of it. Nice eggnog flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
Taste like old-fashioned bakery holiday cookies. I used Godiva liquer instead of rum and they were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States