Eggnog-Raspberry Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Creamy, delicious, rich (but not too much for my sensitive stomach). These waffles were absolutely wonderful, and will be a new Christmas morning tradition in our house. We used blackberries, and used plain yogurt instead of the whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I just used this recipe for the waffles - didn't use the raspberries at all. Very yummy. Everyone - including in-laws - enjoyed the waffles on Christmas morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: King William, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
These were yummy! I didn't make the raspberry topping, the eggnog waffles were great! I did added a little cinnamon and nutmeg :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TabbyPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
we didn't make the sauce the the waffles were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Smethport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is a good, but very rich, waffle. I don't know why some people have had problems with sogginess. The recipe says to start with 1 cup of eggnog and then add more if you need it. I added ad additional 1 Tbsp at a time and probably put in another 1/4 cup total to get the consistency I wanted. I also added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp vanilla. I'd leave the cinnamon out next time. I probably won't make this again because it was just too rich with the eggnog and raspberry jelly, but it's always fun to try new things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Really Yummy! Not at all soggy as previous user stated - however you want to make sure that you only add the amount of eggnog needed to make the batter pourable. You may need a little less OR a Little more then recipe states. I also added a touch of cinnamon and a dash of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
very good...but very sweet. I finally watered down the raspberry preserves to cut the sweet. I also think that this waffle does not come out like a belgian waffle texture to me, but maybe it was my method? Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Ended up pretty soggy, and dense. Not the fluffy crisp delight that it was described as. I think main culprit is that the amount of eggnog is way to much for the amount of flour in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I tried the recipe as is (just 1 cup of nog) for the first waffle. I found there wasn't as much flavor as I would like. So, I added some vanilla, cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg. I must have added too much vanilla because then the waffles became soggy... so, I added 1/4 cup flour and 1/2 tsp baking powder, which fixed the sogginess. However, with everything put together (preserves, raspberries, and whipped cream) I still couldn't taste the eggnog flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States