Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
I made several loaves and gave them as Christmas gifts. Big hit and so easy! I used real rum instead of rum extract, increased the nutmeg to 1/2 tsp., and added 1/3 cup vegetable oil (was too dry otherwise). I agree - fresh eggnog is key! I also made this with lowfat eggnog - was SUPER dry, even after adding oil. You must use the real stuff! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Especially after it sits overnight, this bread has great flavor. With guidance from previous users (gotta love allrecipes's devoted reviewers!) and my own intuition, I made the following changes: 1/2 c. of butter plus 5 T of oil 1 T of rum instead of 2 tsp. rum extract 2 tsp. vanilla extract instead of 1 extra nutmeg This bread is less moist than some kinds but is plenty moist with the changes I made. The crust is also deliciously crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This recipe is SO tasty! I used 5.75" X 3.25" pans (for gifts). The gift loaves were a HUGE hit! Be careful using the smaller pans -- I almost lost my first batch because they were close to burnt at 25 minutes. After I learned the hard way, the rest turned out wonderfully! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
I made this bread and gave small loaves away at Christmas--it was wonderful!! I made 2 batches--one with rum extract, and one with real rum and you couldn't really tell the difference--they were both excellent. I topped them with confectioner's sugar and added cinnamon to one batch--I want to make them again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I have made this bread for a couple of years--it is better after a couple days but a little dry. This year I decided to experiment--overall I used canola oil instead of the butter,cut the flour down to 2cups, and then made banana eggnog bread using one medium to large banana mashed - I made cranberry eggnog bread using 1 cup of grated cranberries. This seemed to make any of three varieties more moist. I gave them as gifts and everyone loved them and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Cambria, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
This bread tastes REALLY good, but the recipe definitely needs to be tweaked. Even after I added extra oil, as another reviewer did, I found this bread still very dry. (Maybe a little less flour?) Anyway, this was really good in a trifle, because the custard made up for the dryness of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Very easy to make and absolutely delicious. I served it with rum sauce for extra calories.........oops, I mean for an extra treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Yummy! It smells great too. I didn't have any rum extract and it was still good. Next time I'd use a pinch more nutmeg. I didn't put in a full cup of sugar and I used only 2 cups of flour (one cup white, one cup whole wheat). I also put in an extra 1/4 cup of eggnog after reading the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This is such an easy quick bread to make for others as gifts and tastes yummy.I recieved many compliments off of this bread and will be doing it again next year.The only thing I would do is add 5-6 Tablespoons of oil to it as it was too dry otherwise.Try it~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
After reading both recipes and reviews for Eggnog Quick Bread, I combined reviewers suggestions. I added: 1 package (1 oz size) Vanilla instant puddding, 5 Tbsp oil (instead of using the melted butter), 1 tsp nutmeg, just 2 Cups flour, 1 1/3 Cups eggnog, 2 Tbsp Rum and 2 tsp Vanilla. The batter is very thick and I made muffins instead of loaves yesterday.They are delicious, moist and tastes just like eggnog but isn't overpowering. My family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States