Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This was excellent. I followed the recommended changes (cutting down flour and a little extra oil) by others and it wasn't dry at all. The flavor was incredible. I won't wait for leftover eggnog next year--I'll make the bread early and often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Foxborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Wonderfull recipe will make again at holiday time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I love this recipe. I did make some changes which made for a moist bread. First I did not melt the butter I just softened it and with the 6 tbsp of oil whipped them with the whipping attachment of my mixer til creamy and well incorporated. I then added the other liquid ingredients that were room temperature and whipped them in also. I folded in by hand 2 cups of flour, some eggnog flavoring, real rum and the vanilla along with the other additions from my fellow allrecipe members. I baked the bread till toothpick came out clean about 1/2 hour and it is the moistest bread ever! I believe the whipping and folding made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindersis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Someone sent this recipe to me this year and I tried it with bought eggnog, full fat type, and it was outstanding. My kids and grandkids all loved it. I don't think a homemade eggnog would give it much of that real flavor we are looking for. Adding fruit would take that flavor away as well. This one is a keeper just as it is written, and mine was plenty moist. I will add that my DH toasted it and put PB on it, but he puts that on a lot of things. He loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I only give a 3 stars because i made many changes to get the recipe taste like a quick bread super moist and made my home smell wonderful. It does remind me alittle bit like a cornbread texture. I cut the sugar back and used health alternatives to the butter and oil suggestions. I will use this again it helped use up the gallon of my favorite dairy homemade egg nog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is such a great christmas bread. I made little ones and give as gifts! I followed the recipe except for the rum extract. I didn't have any and didn't want to buy just for a couple teaspoons so I used spiced rum that i had in the cabinet. Tasted great and not too strong. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Awesome! This will definitely be in my favorites list. I'm giving this 5 stars, however I must confess that it is rated with the following changes, as per other reviewers suggestions. I added: 1 package Vanilla instant puddding, 5 Tbsp oil (instead of using the melted butter), 1 tsp nutmeg, just 2 Cups flour, 1 1/3 Cups eggnog, 2 Tbsp Rum and 2 tsp Vanilla. I put it into 2 loaf pans and it took 60 mins. Caution: it goes from being wet on the top to being done very quickly. So watch it carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Great way to use left over eggnog and I even had soymilk kind! I used 3 tsp. of vanilla instead of 2 tsp. of rum extract and 1 tsp. vanilla, I also added 1 tsp. of cinnamon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This was soooo good. I had to bake it an extra ten minutes, but that may have just been my finicky oven. The outer crust tastes like Nilla Wafers, and the bread is so lightly flavored. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffness23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This bread came out ok fresh from the oven. After that it was definitely too dry for my liking. The taste wasn't bad if only it had been more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cristina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States