Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
The original recipe is a bit dry, as others have stated so I tried it again with the mods suggested and got a great texture and taste, perfect for snacking. And then we turned the first loaf into sensationally delish french toast with strawberry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I followed the most of the recipe except added 2 tbsp. canola/veg oil and subbed 1/4 cup bourbon for rum extract. The result was nicely moist bread and rich--like pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Really yummy bread, and very simple to make. I added a little cinnamon because I just love cinnamon. Also, mine turned out a little dry, even with adding a couple extra tablespoons of oil. But other reviewers commented that it got better after a couple days, so I'll try another bite tomorrow...and the next day... And next time I bake it, I'll add a little more moisture somehow...maybe oil or a bit more egg nog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Great recipe!! I used vanilla spice eggnog, omitted the rum extract because I didn't have it, added vanilla pudding dry mix and increased the eggnog a bit. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This was the first time I had made this recipe. Only I made a few minor changes to add more flavour. I tried adding 3 teaspoons of rum extract, 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract and 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg. It was full of all the flavours and was delicious. I also followed somebody elses comment on adding 1 1/2 tablespoons of oil to make it more moist and it worked. I created my own butter rum eggnog glaze to drizzle on top and it was delicious. I am hoping to post the recipe and share it with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Love love love this. I suspected that whisking softened butter into that liquid mixture would result in little lumps of unincorporated butter (it did), and I feared this would result in funky-textured bread with holes and greasy spots, but it’s perfect – perfect balance of dense and fluffy, and it’s perfectly moist. I didn’t have eggnog on hand, so I substituted a half-and-half mixture of milk and cream, since the eggnog doesn’t contribute much in the way of flavor anyway; the bread’s flavor comes from the rum extract and nutmeg. In fact, I'd suggest this swap to anyone getting dry results; mine really is fantastically moist. The bread wasn't overly sweet, which I loved, and I suspect using eggnog would've made it sweeter. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This recipe is nice and easy. Very Yummy. I'm giving them away to friends and family for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This is like an eggnog pound cake - it is just fabulous!!! I followed the recipe, but added a glaze made with powdered sugar, rum extract, and nutmeg. Wonderful bread to have during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I followed other recommendations. 2 cups flour 1 1/2 cups eggnog No rum 1/2 cup white sugar (1 is too sweet) 3/4 cup butter 1 tbsp canola oil 1/2 tsp freshly grated nutmeg I followed the recipe for the rest. It turns out like a pound cake, no hint of eggnog at all! But it is still tasty and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This bread is awesome! I too made a few modifications. As suggested by other reviewers I used pudding mix and 1/2 butter and 1/2 oil. I used butterscotch schnapps instead of rum and sprinkled the top of the bread with nutmeg before baking. Will be making for years to come. Thanks Bev!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States