Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Added a small box of banana cream instant pudding mix, about 1.5 cups of eggnog and about 2 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips. My 2 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
When I first tried this I wasn't sure if I liked it or not, but the more I ate the more I liked it. I finished off two loaves practically by myself. lol. I did follow other reviews and added oil and about half a cup more eggnog. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillcasey84
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I can not say enough good things about this bread!!...However, I did change some things about this recipe (because so many people complained that it was dry). I added an extra 1/2 c eggnog, decreased the flour to 2 cups, added 1 small box instant vanilla pudding mix to the batter, and used 1/4 c butter + 1/4 c oil instead of the whole 1/2 c butter. I creamed the butter, sugar and oil until they were very fluffy before I added the rest of the ingredients. Also, I did not have any rum extract, so I just used 2-3 tbs of the real stuff instead ;) The finished product turned out to be very moist and sooooo yummy! I made a delicious eggnog glaze to go on top, which realllllly adds to this bread. Glaze: 1c confectioners' sugar, then mix in eggnog and rum until you reach your desired consistency and taste (add a healthy amount of rum, you will be happy that you did). The glaze and this bread together were amazing! Next time I might try a flavored eggnog and see how it turns out :~)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillcasey84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burrillville, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
i follow the recipe for it doing everything it say, but the bread was dry tasting and hard to swallow. Unforturely I give mimi loaves for gift I hadf to appozine to the people I give it to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very good and pretty quick to whip up. I made this in my bread maker and it turned out really moist with a 1/2 cup more eggnog in the mix. My family really loves it but it is so very sweet they would only take one piece of it a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This bread has been quite popular with my friends and family! My changes: I added the pkg of vanilla pudding, increased the eggnog by 1/3cup, and subbed oil for the butter. That made for a nice, moist loaf. I also added one 10 oz jar of maraschino cherries; drained and chopped, and 1/2 cup chopped pecans. Stir 1/4 cup of the flour with the cherries and nuts before adding them to the batter. That will help keep them from sinking to the bottom of the pan. If you like eggnog flavor, up the nutmeg a bit, or use freshly grated for a great flavor boost! We make a lot of mini loaves for gift giving. This is one for the recipe box, and we will use it over and over. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roland, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
turned out good, need to make a thick icing to make it complete
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made about 10 of these for people I work with. The only change I made was using Spiced Rum instead of Rum extract, because I did not have the rum extract. Waiting to hear from them, but I would definitely give it 4 stars, great Christmas morning with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Moist and delicious! Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOUNDMYZEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I was very disappointed in this bread. It was dry, and flavorless. I even added the 3 TBS of oil that other reviewers suggested to help with the dryness, and I don't feel it helped. If I were to make this again, I think I would double the amount of nutmeg called for, and I don't know what to do to make it less dry. Maybe add more eggnog??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States