Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
i follow the recipe for it doing everything it say, but the bread was dry tasting and hard to swallow. Unforturely I give mimi loaves for gift I hadf to appozine to the people I give it to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very good and pretty quick to whip up. I made this in my bread maker and it turned out really moist with a 1/2 cup more eggnog in the mix. My family really loves it but it is so very sweet they would only take one piece of it a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This bread has been quite popular with my friends and family! My changes: I added the pkg of vanilla pudding, increased the eggnog by 1/3cup, and subbed oil for the butter. That made for a nice, moist loaf. I also added one 10 oz jar of maraschino cherries; drained and chopped, and 1/2 cup chopped pecans. Stir 1/4 cup of the flour with the cherries and nuts before adding them to the batter. That will help keep them from sinking to the bottom of the pan. If you like eggnog flavor, up the nutmeg a bit, or use freshly grated for a great flavor boost! We make a lot of mini loaves for gift giving. This is one for the recipe box, and we will use it over and over. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roland, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
turned out good, need to make a thick icing to make it complete
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made about 10 of these for people I work with. The only change I made was using Spiced Rum instead of Rum extract, because I did not have the rum extract. Waiting to hear from them, but I would definitely give it 4 stars, great Christmas morning with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Moist and delicious! Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOUNDMYZEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I was very disappointed in this bread. It was dry, and flavorless. I even added the 3 TBS of oil that other reviewers suggested to help with the dryness, and I don't feel it helped. If I were to make this again, I think I would double the amount of nutmeg called for, and I don't know what to do to make it less dry. Maybe add more eggnog??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Awesome eggnog bread with modifications. My office ate up the loaf in less than 45 minutes this morning. I added a box of vanilla pudding mix (only had sugar free on hand and used that), extra half cup of eggnog, used 2 cups of flour, 3 tsp rum extract, 2 tsp vanilla, and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. It was incredibly moist and flavorful this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Not that good...It might have been better if I used completely melted butter rather than just softened. The butter did not mix well. Also this bread does not taste much like eggnog. In addition, I added extra nutmeg and even some cinnamon and we could hardly tell that there were spices present. This is a little bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Great Christmas recipe but blend the butter with the sugar first until fluffy, then add the eggs and liquids... won't have any lumps and the bread will be moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States