Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This bread is fantastic! I always, always read reviews for any recipe I find online and I followed everyone's suggestions for keeping this a moist bread. I used 2 cup of flour, a packet of vanilla instant pudding, 1 1/4 cup eggnog, and I added a tablespoon of vegetable oil for good measure. In addition to a loaf, this recipe made 4 "cupcakes" for me, my husband, my son, and my daughter and I coated those with an eggnog glaze that a previous reviewer suggested. I used a little bit of cream cheese in the glaze as well and the consistency was more of an icing that glaze, which I prefer. I needed to cook this for 55 min for the middle to set fully and at that point the sides and top were starting to burn. May try the "tenting" method next time. Tasted delicious nonetheless, this one is a keeper! Now that it passed the "family test", it's on to making this for friends and coworkers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamaria88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Everyone loved this and Mom asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
What an awesome idea! I made these at Christmas time and just now got around to reviewing it. Very tasty bread and just perfect for the holidays! I baked them as directed and then when they came out brushed them lightly with melted butter and sprinkled them with a mixture of sugar, cinnamon, and a pinch of nutmeg. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Good bread. Very dense like pound cake. The eggnog flavor could be a little stronger for my taste. I will make it again though - just think I will add a little extra nutmeg, rum, and eggnog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
excellent flavor. I don't know why I didn't listen to the other reviewers as I normally do, because they were right, it's a little dry, but I'm not offended, it tasted awesome. If you don't like things too sweet, there's no need for glaze at all, and you may consider cutting down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I make this into muffins instead of a loaf. To avoid it being dry, as others have experienced, I use 1/2 a cup of veg oil instead of butter, and add a banana or two. My kids LOVE them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Delicious and very moist. I tweaked only a little. Instead of butter, I used applesauce. And I used one egg instead of two. I baked it for 600 mins and let it stand for 10 then served it. My daughter dislikes breads but with this one she took a huge chunk. It went fast. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I loved this bread and so did my family. I brought it over for Christmas and it was devoured. In reading other reviews I creamed the butter with the sugar and added 3 tbs of vegetable oil to make it more moist. It worked perfectly. I made large loaves and mini loaves and both were divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mRS.L
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is a really good recipe. I did add a small box of vanilla pudding and I increased the eggnog to 1 1/3 c. I baked it 55min but I think I should have taken it out at 50min since the edges are crunchy - not burnt - but crunchy. I added a glaze to the top and I am glad I did because it really adds to the flavor of the bread. For my glaze I mixed 1c of powdered sugar and added rum extract and eggnog until I liked the consistency and flavor I liked. I will make this again but bake it a little less. I added a picture with the glaze :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mRS.L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
too dense and took about 75 minutes to completely cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States