Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Very easy recipe. Followed the advice of other reviewers and increased the egg nog to 1 1/2 cups and added a packet of instant vanilla pudding. I also used real rum as well. Very tasty especially the next day. Made great gifts, and people commented how much they liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This recipe is very good! I realized after I'd started that my bottle of rum extract was empty, so I used 2 tsp. Bacardi instead. That was the only substitution I made. I made 3 small loaves. I have no idea why people are complaining that this bread is dry, unless they overbaked it. Mine was very moist. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I used the ingredients as listed, but I creamed the butter and sugar together, blended in the wet ingredients, then whisked together the dry ingredients in a separate bowl, and mixed the wet and dry ingredients together. Instead of loaves, I made 12 large muffins. They were perfectly done in 20 minutes and not dry at all; maybe because they don't have to bake nearly as long as loaves. They tasted great and had a texture more like a light cake than a muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I added an extra half cup of eggnog and 2 tsps. of bourbon instead of rum. It has great flavor, but still seems a bit dry - which is crazy because the batter seemed too wet. I am wrapping it in wax paper for a day or two and see if that helps with the moisture thing. It is delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rubypeaches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I didn't have vanilla pudding mix, so I used chocolate! It's moist and delicious!! Took other reviewer's suggestions and did 2 C eggnog, 1/2 butter 1/2 veg oil. I made the glaze suggested by another reviewer and honestly, the bread would be great alone but now that I've put this glaze together it's going on!!! YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I just love it. But for a little something extra I added 1/2 a cup of vanilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSDPT
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
So yummy, and I even used light egg nog and egg beaters! I would just go a little light on the rum flavor unless you REALLY like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I wanted to love this, but it turn out as good as I'd hoped. I had to bake it for 1hr and 15 min. It was really hard/crunchy on the outside and hard to cut through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Brotherton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This bread would probably earn itself a full 5 stars next time, but for now it just doesn't quite cut it. I followed the recipe exactly, and the imitation rum ruins it. I'm not sure how real rum would change baking consistencies and such, but I think it's worth figuring it out. The imitation stuff leaves such an awful taste in your mouth that you no longer want to eat anymore!! It's truly horrible! If not for that, I think I would love this. The consistency is nice, and it was moist. Just one bump in the road to figure out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nutley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I had a carton of eggnog to use before going bad. I set out to find 3 recipes to use it up. I started with this quick bread and moved on to pancakes. This bread is ok made as written. Everyone who made this had a different variation as their way to make it. I made as written and baked it in 3 mini loaves for 35 minutes. The taste was good…….a little dry as far as quick breads go. My family actually liked it toasted best with a little butter. I would try this recipe again, but I would tweak it using some of the suggestions from other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States