Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I wasn't wildly impressed with this bread, thought it was just OK. It's good enough to finish the loaf, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I loved this recipe with a couple of adjustments. Increased eggnog to 1 1/3 c., used 2 T. rum instead of extract and added the vanilla pudding packet that another reviewer suggested. This was excellent and almost resembled a nice pound cake, with it's consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
As others suggested I cut the flour to 2 c, increased the nutmeg to 1/2 tsp and I ended up using 1/2 TBSP of rum extract. Almost too dense and sweet to consider it "bread".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This was fantastic! I used half butter and half canola oil. Delicious! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
First let me say this tasted pretty good. I followed the suggestion of others by increasing the eggnog to 1 1/3 c but didn't change anything else. It wasn't very sweet and it was very moist and dense. I think that may have been what confused me most. It had the same density and moistness of a pound cake but it wasn't sweet like one. I think I'll try to morph this into more of a pound cake but I do want to add my husband doesn't like stuff that is too sweet and he devoured this (which he never does).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I had high hopes for this one, but was a bit disappointed. It was almost too rich to eat; more of it wasn't eaten than was. I would recommend planning to eat the entire loaf the day you make it, as leftovers don't age well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I LOVED this bread! The rest of the family thought it was just ok that is why I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5+. I used 1/4 c coconut rum, extra nutmeg, vanilla and 1&1/3 c eggnog. Increased baking time because of the extra liquid. Will make again and it will be ALL MINE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I took the advice from other reviewers and added a small package of vanilla pudding, increased the egg nog to 1 1/3 cup, and used 2 T. of real rum. The bread was delicous. It has more of a pound cake consistency than a bread. I'll be making this every Christmas from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Just "OK" for our family - husband liked it well enough but I found that I pitched the last third of the loaf. Maybe we're not big eggnog fans? Won't make it again - too many other better quick bread recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Made this just before Christmas and got some mixed reviews. Those that love eggnog in my famly devoured it; others complained that it was too heavy. I think if you're an eggnog fan you'll enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States