Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This was so easy to put together! I used a cup of the Easiest Eggnog from this site in this recipe. Everything went together so well. This recipe made one big loaf. It was done in about an hour, give or take, but I had to put a piece of tented foil over the top so the bread wouldn't burn on top. After it had cooled, I made a quick vanilla-rum glaze and drizzled it over the top to really make it extra tasty. This reminds me somewhat of the pound cake that my grandmother used to make when I was a kid. It would make a great gift bread or breakfast bread. I like this bread. So did my kids and husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I used about 3 Tbs of actual spiced rum instead of the extract and everyone who tried it thought it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I made this bread for Xams gifts. Turned out GREAT! As some others said it was dry, needed pudding, oil etc. Didn't find that the case, has 1/2 cup of butter already. Good just as is. If it's dry you probably baked it too long!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Social Circle, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was good but very heavy and I didn't like the smell of eggnog after awhile...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ursula Mann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I poured 1 1/3 c.eggnog then filled the measure cup with oil to the 1 1/2 c. mark. It came out exceptional! Very moist and very much like pound cake. To 1/2 of the batter I added ground walnuts and that was very well received too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This is such an easy recipe for such a yummy bread. The last time I made it, I was out of rum extract so I just left it out and used more vanilla and it was still just as good. This is one of those recipes you would have to work hard at to mess up because, it comes out good each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calebsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was so good!! Didn't have rum extract so I used a cap ful of spiced rum. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This bread was perfect. I tasted this warm and thought "oh no, I can't give this". I left it overnight and then tried it the next morning. It was wonderful. I gave it as gifts for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I added pudding mix and a little more eggnog. It was good after being refrigerated, but nothing I would crave. It also took forever to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Really yummy! First I made a few adjustments to this recipe. I used 1 and 1/2cups of the premixed holiday nog (rum already in it) and only 2 cups of flour. I also added a 1/4 cup of a powdered egg nog (like hot chocolate) I already had in the cupboard. It may be kind hard to find but a tsp of egg nog flavoring would work too. This bread turned out so moist and I the strong rum flavor the holiday nog gave it. I cut the loaf into small cubes and dipped them in vanilla almond bark. They are like homemade rum/nog petit fours! So good! Also they taste expensive ;-). *please note if you do not like the taste of rum this version is not for you. The holiday nog has a higher rum content and adds quite a bit of rum flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States