Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I just made this bread and it is delicioussssss I did add a package of vanilla pudding mix and I used real rum. oOuTSAnDINg!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I don't drink eggnog but this was so good! I added a little cinnamon to it. De-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
i loved it with most of the changes i made. For each loaf i melted the butter and added 3TB veg oil. upped the rum to 2TB and added 1/2t baking soda. So all the wet into a bowl (except for the eggnog) sifted all dry in another. Beat the wet for a minute. then alternated the flour mix with the eggnog. I had a double batch so 2 9x5 pans about 47-50 mins @ 350. I then melted 1/4C butter in a saucepan and added 1/2C sugar and 1/4C both OJ and triple sec. When bread was finished let them cool for 5 mins then i poured this over the TWO breads while still in the pans. I did poke some holes in the breads too. Let it cool for about 30 mins and turned them out. That will keep em moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Used the last of my light eggnog on this today! Turned out very good with the help of others reviews. I creamed 1/4C. butter with the sugar, vanilla, eggs & eggnog (added an additional 1/2C. eggnog). Streamed in 1/4C. canola oil. Added my sifted ingredients which included a small package of instant vanilla pudding. I didn't use any rum or rum extract, still turned out great! I ended up needing 4 mini loaf pans & I did use a simple thin glaze of powdered sugar & a little eggnog. Very moist & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I make this recipe every year and give mini loaves as gifts. I did not change any ingredients and it always turns out perfectly. Technique is very important. Cream the butter and sugar first. Works best if the butter is very soft - room temp. Instructions say "stir just enough to moisten." Do not over stir. That will affect the texture. Definitely do not over bake. I only use unsalted butter. Just a taste preference. Butter has a definite flavor when baking, so if you substitute with other fats, the rum extract may seem too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Very easy recipe. Followed the advice of other reviewers and increased the egg nog to 1 1/2 cups and added a packet of instant vanilla pudding. I also used real rum as well. Very tasty especially the next day. Made great gifts, and people commented how much they liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This recipe is very good! I realized after I'd started that my bottle of rum extract was empty, so I used 2 tsp. Bacardi instead. That was the only substitution I made. I made 3 small loaves. I have no idea why people are complaining that this bread is dry, unless they overbaked it. Mine was very moist. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I used the ingredients as listed, but I creamed the butter and sugar together, blended in the wet ingredients, then whisked together the dry ingredients in a separate bowl, and mixed the wet and dry ingredients together. Instead of loaves, I made 12 large muffins. They were perfectly done in 20 minutes and not dry at all; maybe because they don't have to bake nearly as long as loaves. They tasted great and had a texture more like a light cake than a muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I added an extra half cup of eggnog and 2 tsps. of bourbon instead of rum. It has great flavor, but still seems a bit dry - which is crazy because the batter seemed too wet. I am wrapping it in wax paper for a day or two and see if that helps with the moisture thing. It is delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rubypeaches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I didn't have vanilla pudding mix, so I used chocolate! It's moist and delicious!! Took other reviewer's suggestions and did 2 C eggnog, 1/2 butter 1/2 veg oil. I made the glaze suggested by another reviewer and honestly, the bread would be great alone but now that I've put this glaze together it's going on!!! YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States