Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Talena
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I make this bread every year. It is a little dry as written so I add 3 tablespoons of oil to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I followed the suggestion of adding an extra half cup of egg nog and a small box of vanilla cook and serve pudding (I didn't do instant). It came out perfect! It stayed moist even after being cut, and got race reviews from everyone who tried it! a double batch made 8 or 9 mini loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I made this recipe last night adding 1/2 extra eggnog and packet of pudding as suggested. I wanted to make small 5 X 3 loaves. The recipe suggest that you can make 3 of them, but with the additional ingredients I would suggest 4. They rose much higher than they should out of the pans and did not present well. Also it took much longer to bake them than the suggested baking time for a small loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Rohwer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I believe in rating the recipe as it is found on the site. As it is written it is four stars. It is good but not great. A little dry, good flavor. To make it five stars always use an extra half of a cup of eggnog and at least one of the following add ins. Try adding any or all of these ( i have in every combination, all winners!) : a box of instant vanilla pudding mix, a half cup of milk chocolate chips, a cup of unsweetened shredded coconut, double the vanilla extract or double the nutmeg. I always buy the nog with the rum already in it but extract works fine.Also, I prefer to make with coconut oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Really nice loaf and quite easy to make. I took the advice of other reviewers and added an extra 1/2 cup of egg nog and vanilla instant pudding. Turned out quite well! It also seemed to taste better after a couple days in the fridge. Only thing I was just a little disapponted about is that it could still have a stronger egg nog flavour. I'll probably use 2 cups next time plus extra nutmeg. All in all though, it was extremely well received by the family and guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
perf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I just made this bread and it is delicioussssss I did add a package of vanilla pudding mix and I used real rum. oOuTSAnDINg!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I don't drink eggnog but this was so good! I added a little cinnamon to it. De-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
i loved it with most of the changes i made. For each loaf i melted the butter and added 3TB veg oil. upped the rum to 2TB and added 1/2t baking soda. So all the wet into a bowl (except for the eggnog) sifted all dry in another. Beat the wet for a minute. then alternated the flour mix with the eggnog. I had a double batch so 2 9x5 pans about 47-50 mins @ 350. I then melted 1/4C butter in a saucepan and added 1/2C sugar and 1/4C both OJ and triple sec. When bread was finished let them cool for 5 mins then i poured this over the TWO breads while still in the pans. I did poke some holes in the breads too. Let it cool for about 30 mins and turned them out. That will keep em moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Used the last of my light eggnog on this today! Turned out very good with the help of others reviews. I creamed 1/4C. butter with the sugar, vanilla, eggs & eggnog (added an additional 1/2C. eggnog). Streamed in 1/4C. canola oil. Added my sifted ingredients which included a small package of instant vanilla pudding. I didn't use any rum or rum extract, still turned out great! I ended up needing 4 mini loaf pans & I did use a simple thin glaze of powdered sugar & a little eggnog. Very moist & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States