Eggnog Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Did some ppl use yellow food coloring in theirs? B/c mine did not turn out looking like the picture. I did alter my recipe, but I rated based on taste alone, which should not change. What did was my cooking time. I did muffins, and they took a lot longer than normal. In total, it took me close to half an hour to finish baking. It's partly due to the fact that I doubled the liquid (2c of eggnog) and used half oil for the butter...and also, how I kept on taking them out to check. I think the alteration also made the product a little spongier. The taste was fine, but nothing that bowled me over. If I were to make it again, I would add only half a cup more of eggnog at most. Other alterations were increasing the nutmeg to half a teaspoon, and using pudding mix. Update: The ppl at work gobbled them up. So I added one more star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
As other recommended, I added 1 package of instant vanilla pudding, and 1/2 cup extra eggnog. What a nice and different quick bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Everyone enjoyed this bread. So easy to make and bake. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
OK, so I tried this recipe adding in the vanilla pudding mix, and made them into cupcakes so I could take them to work. Not one complaint, everyone loved it, and were asking me for the recipe, of course I directed them to all recipes. Thank you so much for a terrific recipe. The cupcakes were cooked for 20 minutes, filled 3/4 of the way, and it came out moist and perfect. Topped with powdered sugar....Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Wow! This is so good; it will be become a new holiday staple. Extremely flavorable and VERY moist. After reading through a lot of reviews and combining various ideas, here were my modifications: * Increased eggnog to 1-1/2 cups * Used 3 Tbl dark rum instead of the extract * Increased vanilla to 2 tsp. * Instead of 1/2 c butter, I used 1/4 c butter plus 1/4 cup oil * Doubled the nutmeg to 1/2 tsp. * Added 1 packet (from 3.4 oz box) of vanilla pudding powder and sifted it in with the flour. * I creamed the sugar, oil & butter until it was light and fluffy before adding the eggs, etc. I added the eggs one at a time, mixing between eggs. * Added a glaze - it came out very thick like a frosting, but melted into a nice glaze when spread on the hot bread. I used 1/2 c powdered sugar, 1-1/2 tsp butter, 1/4 tsp vanilla, 1-1/2 Tbl eggnog and 1-1/2 tsp rum. (Note: it made a plenty of glaze for a thin layer.) After the bread came out of the oven I let it sit for about 5 minutes, then poked some holes in it with a cake tester and spread a thin layer of the glaze on top. I got 4 full mini loaves out of this. I left a little bit of room when filling the pans to allow room for the glaze, and they came out nice and rounded on top. Can not tell you how delicious and moist and flavorful this is! It's fairly sweet with the glaze, so it's filling. But we thought the glaze added great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AnnaM
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very good! Fallowed the directions for makign 24 servings in 8x3 pans and the three loaves turned out great! Parents love it! So do I! Will defintely being making this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This bread was a hit in my household! I had read the reviews about it being a little dry so I added a 1/2 cup more eggnog and a packet of vanilla instant pudding to the mix ( as per someone else's recipe "tweek" ) and it came out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This bread is really good. The only thing I'd add next time is a 'healthy' splash of Disaronno! Otherwise it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Pretty good! I substituted a few things. Used half a cup of sugar, 1/4 oil 1/4 butter (in place of 1/2 cup melted butter), used Silk Soy Milk Eggnog, and whole wheat flour, and it still came out yum! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fk2123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Taste was great but it was very dry even with adding extra eggnog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne_Raine
Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States