Eggnog Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I was actually very impressed by this recipe! The pancakes were extremely fluffy and tasty, with just a hint of eggnog flavor. I'm not a huge eggnog fan, I go back and forth on it (although I do occasionally substitute eggnog for cream in my coffee, so I had some on hand). My only criticism was that the eggnog made the batter very thick so the pancakes were slightly burned before they cooked through. I'd suggest substituting up to half of the eggnog with milk. I used lowfat eggnog and skim milk. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
The site didn't add that you have to clarify the butter so that the pancakes won't burn. They did however add a link at the bottom of the recipe showing how to clarify butter. For the purposes of this recipe you don't have to completely clarify it though, just heat the butter in the microwave and skim off the fat that floats on top before adding it to the mix. It is also nice if you add the hot butter to the cold milk so that it solidifies again and creats butter pockets in the pancakes when they cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
These were awesome!! Nice and fluffy as well as a hint of egg nog. Not too rich...just perfect. Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
We really enjoyed these pancakes for our "day after Christmas" breakfast. As written the batter was thicker than I prefer so I adjusted the recipe by adding an extra egg, rum extract, nutmeg, and 1/2 cup more eggnog. Just add more eggnog until it is the desired thickness. They came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I rated this recipe two stars for a couple of reasons. The first is that the recipe yield is for 6 people, but this is way off in my opinion, we only fed three! As well, the batter is VERY thick and in the end I had to add about an additional 1/2 cup of milk to thin the batter out a bit. The flavour was not bad, but we found them to be a bit....gluey and heavy for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
You're so right; even if you don't like eggnog, you will like these delicious pancakes. I made them because my family loves eggnog and I, of course, had to give them a taste. I'm happy to say that I was pleasantly surprised! Like the other reviewers, I had to add more liquid as the batter is very thick. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Made these this morning for 5 people and doubled the recipe, exept for the baking powder...just used 4 teaspoons. Also substituted cooking oil for the clarified butter (too much work!). They were actually quite good...everyone liked them. They are just a bit dense so don't expect "light and fluffy". Good recipe and I will probably use again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Not as impressive as hoped. Was interesting - but may not be worth the effort OR fat and calories! Was good - just not impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Add more nutmeg, turn out very thick, takes a trick to cook without being gooy but worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I was skeptical with the eggnog in these but always having extra at the holidays, I went for it. Husband doesn't like "strange ingredients I put in food when experimenting but even he said these were really good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Pancakes I

See how to make a simple 5-star pancake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States