Eggnog Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
These tasted great, but mine needed a bit more egg nog to thin out the batter. As written it was just shy of a dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I loved this recipe. I made it with 3 ingredients though, I used 1 cup self-rising flour, 1 tablespoon of sugar and 1 1/4 cup of eggnog. I added chopped walnuts once on the griddle. Light and fluffy topped pancake with sliced banana, powder sugar, and a dollup of cool whip. Decadent Christmas Breakfast with bacon and sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Imre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Way too thick when made as directed. First pancake was like a brick. I added some 2% milk until I had a better texture. I also added some cinnamon and nutmeg. Overall the flavor was great, just needed some tweaking to get the right texture, add some milk for a lighter, fluffier outcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I loved the pancakes even though it was missing the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candida Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Absolutely love these pancakes! I added a bit of coconut milk so it wasn't so thick and it turned out perfectly! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
These are great, but as other reviewers have said, you need to add a lot of milk until batter is the right consistency. Clarified butter does protect them from burning; since it takes a while for thick pancakes to cook it is worth the extra step. For a Christmas holiday brunch, offer warmed mincemeat (diluted with apple juice) as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I'm only giving this 3 stars because I ended up with up with a thick dough-like batter instead of a pourable type pancake batter. I added extra milk and eggnog to fix the problem and they turned out okay (I used 2 tbsp of oil instead of clarified butter). Had great flavour, but were still a bit more soft in the middle than I like. So, when you go to make this, just have extra milk and eggnog on hand to add until you get the proper pancake consistency (didn't measure the amount, just added a bit at a time. Adding regular milk will water down the flavour of the eggnog a bit, so that's why I used both regular milk and eggnog). I would garnish with a dollop of whip cream sprinkled with a bit of ground nutmeg if you wanted to fancy them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I am an experienced baker and trust me- there is something seriously wrong with this recipe. I followed it exactly- and the batter is way too thick for pancakes. Ended up trying to salvage it with milk- no one would eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made these for Christmas morning, and I think they've become a new tradition! The batter wasn't runny enough so I needed to adjust a bit there, but other than that these pancakes are great. The eggnog flavor is there, but it's not overwhelming. It's just enough to make it festive! My husband dislikes eggnog, but its flavor was light enough that he could still enjoy these pancakes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nutley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
My family enjoyed this pancake recipe. I actually made 2 different ‘Eggnog Pancake’ recipes from AR. I made as written, but didn’t oil the griddle before frying. I placed the batter on a dry griddle. I think adding the butter to this recipe made the pancakes not rise as high as the other recipe. They were good, but making both recipes at the same time made us favor the other recipe over this one. I made a double batch and froze them. My guys just reheated in the microwave for a quick, warm breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Pancakes I

See how to make a simple 5-star pancake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States