Eggnog II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Simple but just what I was looking for in a cooked eggnog. I made it the first time with the cream but it was almost too thick. I left out the cream and added rum flavoring. It's just like the store bought eggnog that I love but at less than 1/4 the price. Some tips that made this easier for me: Cook this over medium heat in a double boiler (or in my case a metal bowl over a pot of boiling water). This will make the cooking take a little longer but will all but eliminate the risk of curdling. The target temperature should be 170F. This is hot enough to kill any bacteria but not hot enough to make scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
What a super simple but superb recipe! The only things I did different is to strain the egg mix before you chill it (to get out those lovely membranes). I also stirred in 1 tsp. of nutmeg before serving. Shake the nog up every time before serving and be careful about heating the egg mix, or you'll get a bowl of scrambled eggs in milk (like I did :)).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This was my first attempt at making eggnog and it was very easy and turned out delicious. Remember to refrigerate the 'nog' if you like it thick. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2000
YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!~!~!~!~!~!~!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
The flavor was great (especially with a cinnamon sprinkled on top!) I was looking for a recipe like my mom made when we were growing up, but being pregnant wanted something without raw eggs. Cooking the eggs worked good (Thanks for the recommendation to strain the eggs.) , but the finished product was way too thick! Don't whip up the cream. Maybe I whipped it up too much... but when I drank it it made me feel bloated. Go easy on the whipping and it might be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This is a marvelous recipe...be careful cooking the eggs...be sure you cook on low heat and watch the consistency. I get raves everytime I cook and serve this! Great for Christmas and New Years!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
A nice simple nonalcoholic eggnog I will make it agian but will reduce eggs by 1/3 as my family doesn't like it quite so "eggie". Also have your icebath ready ahead of time and put the top of your double boiler into the icebath imeadiatly upon the eggnog reaching 170 degreas F or you will end up with a few srambled eggs in the mix. We just used nutmeg and it was wonderfull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PreacherEd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
GREAT recipe!!! I live overseas and "eggnog" does not exist!! Only thing... I whipped the cream with confec. sugar instead of regular!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I just made this Eggnog, because I didn't want to use raw eggs, but I didn't like the consistency of it. It was just not smooth enough. The flavor was good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I had my students in Foods and Nutrition class make this recipe. Some weren't going to try it because they didn't like eggnog, but they all ended up loving it! It's so much better than store-bought egg nog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States