Eggnog II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Perfect eggnog recipe! Easy to make. Played around with the whipcream amounts for thickness, and a bit more milk to reduce the 'egginess'. Oh and added a touch of whiskey while serving for those who needed that extra kick. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Best Eggnog ever if you double the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
did not work out well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Delicious! A nice, straight-forward recipe. 5 stars if it suggested an optional complimentary form of alcohol (this eggnog is good, but I prefer mine with a little kick.) Be CAREFUL when cooking the eggs, I overdid it, then used cold water instead of an ice bath, so they were cooking just as fast as I could strain them out of the pan. The result wasn't half bad, though; a sort of thin flan. I'd try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
VERY eggy flavor. Well, I overcooked it. Should have read all of the reviews that said to heat to 170 degrees. I was excited about not having to temper the eggs...but it didn't work out for me. I'm going to try again, but this time temper the eggs and cut it down to 3 yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I live in Korea (where eggnog doesn't exist) and was looking for a good, non-alcoholic eggnog. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! The first time I did not add the whipped cream and it was fine, but the second time I added it and it was perfect. I'm sure that I'll have to make it three or four more times before Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This recipe was absolutely wonderful. You must know that it is a thick yet light nog, so drinking it is a bit different than a nog you'd buy in the store. I agree that you could choose not to whip the cream at all and it probably would turn out closer to a store nog. I added cinnamon and nutmeg directly into the cooked nog before adding the whipped cream. About 1 tsp. each. It gives it a nice flavor without being too powerful. If you do cook the nog too long, like the previous review, get a strainer to take out any unwanted textures that form in the nog. When you fold in the whipped cream it'll hide a slight over-cooking. Again, it's a thick nog but not dense. Consider not using the egg whites when making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
love it.u guys try my recipe 4 triple chocolate cookies they go great with eggnog
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasmine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
The direction to cook until "coats a metal spoon" was a little ambigious. Mine ended up overcooking & becoming more of a pudding consistency, with bits of solid (like tapioca). I added cinnamon & nutmeg before folding in the whipped cream. We ate it like pudding & the flavor was still decent, but I think it could use more- like rum extract maybe? But seeing as how temperamental it was for me, I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This recipe was okay. but with a family of 13, i was hoping for something simpler. i was upset though, because suzie and alexandria didn't get any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States