Eggnog I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I personally don't drink eggnog so I made this for my husband who could drink eggnog poolside in Miami. Anyway, I asked for his feedback and will pass it on to you. He says it's not as thick as he likes it but overall the taste was excellent and is now on the lookout for a double boiler for me (YAY!) so that I can make this all year. So thanks for the great recipe that earns me new kitchen awesomeness. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very good starter recipe. The only changes I had to make was doubling the egg yolks( I agree with other reviewers without this it isn't eggy enough like eggnog should be) . I also added 1 tsp of nutmeg to the eggnog itself because it was alittle too plain for how we like our eggnog. I didn't add in the rum but kept it as an option on the side so the kids could enjoy it also. With the changes I made it came out thick and oh so yummy. Everyone at our Christmas loved it. I also made this the night before due to time constraints the next day and it kept perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
it was good...simple uncomplicated steps..i dont usually make eggnog and was looking for something without totally raw eggs..this fit the bill...ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Followed another reviewer's advice and doubled the egg yolks, and added vanilla. We never put Rum in our eggnog and think it's delicious that way. One thing the recipe doesn't mention is that to form stiff peaks in the whipping cream you need to also add sugar to that (about 2 Tblsp). This also makes the recipe sweeter - We serve the whipping cream on the side so each person can make it as sweet as they like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by goodcookin
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Just silky smooth, thick and delicious. Not too sweet. I doubled the eggs like Jacobow said on a previous comment. Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodcookin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Alicante, Communidad Valenciana, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam Nemati
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Just add vanilla and double the yolks - you will enjoy it a lot! We dropped the sugar, but it was too unsweet, so be sure to follow the recipe or use more if you have a sweet tooth :) Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Excellent, cooked eggnog recipe so the kids can enjoy it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Vesco Roberts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Man all I wanted to do was try eggnog. I really hope this is a bad example of the recipe because i'm certain no self respecting american would even think of drinking this! Sorry, just not nice at all. Hopefully I'll find a better recipe somewhere else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
this tasted good, but not very "eggy", it tasted like sweetend milk with whipped cream and rum. next time i might try adding more eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMS1115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colma, California, USA
Living In: Alkmaar, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States