Eggnog French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
yum! I added freshly ground nutmeg, only 1 t cinnamon, and 1/2 t pumpkin pie spice. I sprayed a 9x13 baking dish with baking spray, packed bread slices in the pan and poured the batter over the whole thing. Covered with plastic wrap and refrigerated it overnight. This morning I took it out for an hour (Letting my glass baking dish come up to room temperature) then baked the french toast for 40 min. in a 350*F oven...divine! We didn't even use syrup, the eggnog taste was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Delicious. I used whole wheat bread and substituted the cinnamon for freshly ground nutmeg. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
YUMMY!! I used the French Bread recipe from this site. It was so good...my daughter who eats like a bird had 4 pieces and I won't ell you how many the son and husband had. it was all gone in a matter of minutes. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Everyone loved it and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
My mom always makes this when we are visiting around the Holidays....soooo yummy! A nice change from regular old french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I had some leftover eggnog and thought this would make a nice New Year's Day breakfast. I halved the spices and used day old french bread. Good quality maple syrup makes the flavor really come out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I didn't tweak this recipe at all and it was fabulous. Had to make it two days in a row for my kids and mother in law. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I modified this recipe a little (less cinnamon, added sugar) and decided to try the suggestion to soak the bread overnight for more flavor. I don't have anything that holds 12 pieces of bread flat (does anyone?) so I stacked the bread in a plastic container with a lid, and poured the mixture in between and on top, but ran out at the end. In order to try to soak all the pieces, I flipped the container a couple times. There must be a better way, because the next morning the pieces were so soaked that they were hard to get on the griddle in bread-shaped pieces. If someone else has a different way, let us know. Otherwise, stick to the standard dip-and-grill method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
That's a spicy french toast! We enjoyed this different recipe. Not something I'd make on a regular basis, but a great Christmas Eve breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
We had this last weekend with the Buttermilk Syrup from this site and it was sooooo good. The eggnog flavor is very mild. Hubby said noone would know if you didn't tell them, but I did catch a hint of it occasionally. We loved it but I think the syrup made it so much more special. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elite99999

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Fort, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Forest City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States