Eggnog French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This is quick and easy to make, but nothing special. Just a change of flavor for the holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I had to change the recipe as it is the toast gets too soggy. I use 4 eggs and 1 cup egg nog then just nutmeg dashed in before I dip each one because the spice just floats on the top and is gone after a few slices are dipped. We always use Kings Hawaiian bread sliced thick. Dip the bread quickly and then cook immediatly. Tastes great with blueberry syrup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I made exactly as written. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
My husband and I had invited a friend over for Christmas morning, as he has no other family to visit on the holidays. I made him a large breakfast, which included this eggnog french toast, and he loved it so much that he had a third portion. As other reviewers suggested, I added a little bit of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
great, my little bro love this. i sue it from lef over eggnog and panttone and the whole family just gobble it up. my little bro drench it in maple syrup and powder sugar. it goes well with some slice banana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hime12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I was so disappointed with the way this turned out. I used the texas toast as I always do with french toast and followed the rest of the recipe exact. Since the batter has more liquid than typical french toast batter it soaked into the bread much more making the finished product very soggy. The flavor was fantastic but I ended up eating around the edges only due to the sogginess. My husband who loves egg nog and french toast asked if he had to eat anymore. Very disappointing Christmas breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yum Yum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Fantastic! A staple for Christmas breakfast in our family every year. I like to use the thick-cut Texas toast and definitely soak it overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These were great, but the eggnog flavor is a little overpowering (less so once you add syrup). Next time I think I'll do half eggnog, half regular milk. Yummy regardless :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I used thickish sliced bread and ran out of egg/eggnog mixture after only 5 slices. I couldn't taste the nog and although I grilled the bread for ages, the middle was still soggier than I'd hoped for. I guess I'll blame the cook for too aggressive of a dip and too thick of bread. Wonder if baking in oven would have yielded a better result?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Everyone loved it, even the people who dislike egg nog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States