Eggnog Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BelkinErica
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Wow. Followed this recipe exactly and use a small medium ceramic oval baking dish and a much smaller circular bowl and this turned out amazing! Never made custard in my life and this turned out great. I love it more than eggnog alone. Also... Added a sprinkle of cinnamon to the top of each and I think the entire thing was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Super easy to make! I was looking for an easy eggnog custard recipe and this was just right. I combined the ingredients using a blender and added a little extra cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla extract, and half the sugar. Topped with cinnamon sugar and nutmeg and cooked for the full 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Super easy with little to clean up! Turned out amazing with no alterations to the recipe. The custatd melts in your mouth and for me and my family it was perfectly sweet and eggnogy. I used horizon organic eggnog, not sure if the brand of eggnog makes a whole lot of diiference or not but worked great for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Made this three times already. Absolutely great. I used an electric blender to make sure everything was mixed well together. I also drained through a strainer to get rid of the bubbles. Baked it in 2 small ramekins in the oven as directed, left them on the counter to cool, cover them with plastic wrap, then refrigerated them for a day. They turned out very creamy and have an almost mousse-like consistency! So yummy! After the second time making these, I omitted the sugar and nutmeg; thought it was already flavorful enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyClover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I really liked this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, put my pan of water in the oven while it was preheating and ended up baking for the full 45 minutes. Lovely texture and flavour and too easy to make; I kept checking the recipe to make sure I hadn't forgotten anything as it's so simple. I grated fresh nutmeg on top and it browned up almost like creme caramel. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This is a perfect custard recipe! I have been making custards my whole adult life and this recipe is among the best and easiest! I cannot for the life of me figure out what other reviewers are doing wrong with this recipe. It is fail-proof! Check your ovens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I had the same problem as wildwing - very curdy like and loads of liquid in the bottom. Although the taste was good, the texture was nothing like custard. So disappointing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is so easy to make and so delicious! A no braner for the holidy season; I wish egg nog was available all year long, I found the recipe too late to get my fill of this wonderful custard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my3fndogs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I saw this recipe in a slow cooker cook book so I increased the serving size and put half in the ramekins in a slow cooker (3 1/2 hours on low)and half the ramekins in the oven. I topped them with broken ginger snaps that made a nice crust on the top, (at least the oven ones did). I then chilled in the fridge for a few hours. I forgot to put on sugar. I also used egg beaters in hoping that it would all blend better. As for the flavor it was just ok for me. I am not a huge custard/brule/flan fan and the texture was really close to that. The oven ones were definitely better. The slow cooker ones had a more seperated look, lumpy texture and there was fluid on the bottom. Interesting to try but sad I wasted holiday eggnog on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I was very disappointed in this custard. It took an hour and 45 minutes to bake, and when the toothpick finally came out clean, the tops were so brown it almost looked like they were burnt--though, luckily, they weren't. While the taste was pretty good, the consistency was almost disgusting, eggy curds and watery on the bottom. Not recommended if you like real custards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wildwing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States