Eggnog Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Amazing! People keep on asking me when I will make them. I did use yellow cake mix because I was not able to find the pound cake mix, but they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
After reading one reviewers opinion that there was not enough fat in these, I added the 1/4 cup of butter listed on the package and lowered the eggnog to one cup. I think the added fat is important. I liked these cupcakes; they had the typical pound cake crust (which is the best part), and the dense, but not heavy texture. I did not like the frosting: It was tooth-achingly sweet and made me feel a bit sick. I noticed that others felt the same way, scraping off the frosting (though the kids didn't seem to mind). I agree with the reviewer who added a lightly sweetened whipped cream topping. I will try them that way if I chose to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Great taste with the pound cake mix. . I added a splash of rum to the pound cake and skipped the frosting. Just whipped up some heavy whipping cream to thick and then added in a splash of egg nog and 1/2 t rum to whip cream frosting. Spread whipped cream in each cupcake and sprinkled on nutmeg. put in frig til tight before serving. Also used Nog made with coconut milk. Super yummie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia Rey
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Weed, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
While the flavor was good, the cupcakes were just too dense. I think I would try using a white cake mix next time instead of a pound cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jess.Mich
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I changed up the recipe by using pumpkin egg nog, which gives it the perfect thanksgiving/Christmas twist. However, i did have issues with the icing. After making it twice and coming out with a very soupy looking product, I remade it with one tablespoon of egg nog (instead of 1/4 a cup) and adding some pumpkin pie spice to give it more of a pumpkin flavor. It still came out more soupy than I would have hoped for, but it was way better than the first batch with the 1/4 cup of egg nog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess.Mich
Living In: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I really liked these. It is thick like pound cake. Smells and tastes like eggnog very good. I brought them to work for a Christmas party and everyone loved them. I even got a joking marriage proposal because of these cupcakes haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
these were "oh my goodness!" good! Made no changes, only added shaved white chocolate on top...our company that day was impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Okay, I'm convinced - these cupcakes are fragrant with the aroma of eggnog as they bake and when you bite into one you are most definitely tasting eggnog as well. The flavor is delicious but I am not a fan of the cupcake itself. Clearly the reason these are so flavorful of eggnog is because so much of it is used in the batter. Unfortunately, however, I missed the butter that was cut from the package directions in order to accomplish that. The texture is just off. Yes, they are dense like a pound cake, but there is no crumb to speak of and they're not tender - just dense with the texture resembling that of a sponge. There simply is not enough fat in the eggnog to eliminate the butter that otherwise would have, and should have, been included. Now the frosting, on the other hand, is perfect and beautiful. The proportions of each of the ingredients is spot on, right up to and including the eggnog - and I enthusiastically rate it five stars. Still, the frosting cannot make up for the cupcake underneath it, so overall, I unfortunately cannot rate this any higher than 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
We just got done making these cupcakes. We didn't change anything. They came out SO good. We love them and will definitely be making more of these this year and years to come! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Super simple and delicious! I got 21 cupcakes out of the batter, and accidentally used a whole 8oz. cream cheese in the frosting (oops), but it worked out fine. Everyone I shard these with today loved them...a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States