Eggnog Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I made the recipe as directed but they seemed very blah. I decided to give it a 2nd try and made several changes. To upped the eggnog to 3/4c, changed the vanilla extract to rum extract and to compensate for the added liquid I upped the flour to 2 1/2c. The changes worked like a charm, the cookies were soft and chewy and very eggnoggy. I don't know if the rum extract would have made the same impact on the original recipe but I'm not going back, the 2nd batch were gone in a flash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
this recipe was yummy but it needed just a little flare so I took 3/4 cup of confectioner's sugar with 1tsp of nutmeg and mixed about 3-4 tablespoons of eggnog into it to just make it slightly runny. After putting it in a pastry bag with a tiny hole at the end I drizzled it over the cookies then sprinkled red and green sugar over it to give it a festive look. It took a bit for the cookies to dry but it seemed to go faster when I put them in the oven that was barely warm after having it shut off from baking for a while. YUMMY this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana Vitoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
I made these for my secretaries at Christmas,and dethroned the office cookie queen. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I did as recommended earlier and upped the eggnog to 3/4 c., and did rum extract (plus a little vanilla for good measure). I added some extra nutmeg and sprinkled plenty of cinnamon and nutmeg over the top. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
The recipe was not quite right until i changed the sugar to half dark brown and half white. I too changed the amt of egg nog to 3/4c and increased the flour by 1/4c. I also changed the vanilla to spiced rum (real thing) and topped with a wonderful egg nog flavored buttercream icing following recipe on box and also adding part spiced rum for the liquid. Its amazing how this changed the recipe. ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These cookies are delicious--slightly crispy, a little chewy, and a delicate eggnog flavor. I did bake as long as specified on the first batch, but increased the temp by about 10 degrees & baked for less time the second batch, because I like a little browner crust. I mixed nutmeg with sugar for the final sprinkle before baking. Smells & tastes like the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
My family loves this cookie! I added a pecan on the top it really dressed it up and made it perfect for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
Great recipe. Everybody who tried them loved it, except my daughter. She doesn't like any cookies unless they have some form of chocolate in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Enjoyed the change from the same old same old. Was a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
A great holiday cook! I did change the baking time from 20-25 minutes to 8 minutes. I don't know if my oven is super hot but 20 minutes would have burnt the cookies. I also added frosting to some of the cookies and that was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States