Eggnog Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Yummy! I was a little hesitant to try the recipe, some of the reviews state it doesn't taste like eggnog, too much nutmeg, crispy dry cookies. Well I made them this morning as per the recipe, and they are fabulous! Chewy, soft, eggnoggy, just plain Yumtastic! I can see how people may overcook them, they just need to be a light light brown on the bottom of the cookies, they are soft on the inside, and have a nice crunch on the outside. Oh goodness, I am addicted. If you've made them before and they weren't all that great try it again, you'll get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
These have a slight eggnog taste and not a huge eggnog wow. Depending on your preference this could be a bonus or a hindrance. I used lactose free eggnog and butter flavored shortening due to milk intolerance--I don't know if it made any difference, but my cookies were perfectly pillow soft at 20 minutes. These would be great with some gingerbread coffee or some spiced tea. I added an extra 1/4 tsp of each of the spices as soy milk eggnog tends not to be as spiced as milk based nog. This is definitely a keeper for us! Kid approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
If you leave out the nutmeg, you'll taste the eggnog. I made a quick glaze with the eggnog as well and it enhanced the taste quite a bit! An easy way to use up the leftover eggnog in the frig!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Of the four cookie recipes I made in the past two days, this one was my least favorite. It was very good, but I felt that it was the messiest cookie dough so far, and took the longest, and didn't stand up to the flavor of the other cookies I made. Don't get me wrong, the flavor is EXCELLENT, and reminds me of a snickerdoodle in some ways. But I think there are many other cookies I'd rather be making. (Though, EATING is a different story.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I baked these tonite for a function at work tomorrow. I like spice cookies so I didn't alter the amount of cinnamon or nutmeg, but I did add a little bit more butter and walnuts and cranberries. I did rounded tablespoons on my silpat and baked for 15 minutes and no more than 3 minutes after that. They turned out moist, soft and the cranberry and walnut helped offset the spiciness of the cookie. I thought it might turn out bad, but they turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Wonderful! A great cookie for Christmas time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharone Belt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
These cookies turned out awesome! A big hit. Nice and soft and chewy. I didn't have nutmeg so that was the only thing missing but they are still great. Love the eggnog flavor. I dropped them by spoon and some of them kind of look a bit "rough" - no big deal because the taste is fantastic but next time I might shape into balls a bit to make them look a little neater. These are a going to be made every year in my house. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I have been making these cookies for years and they are FABULOUS!! My fiance has me make them every year! I am particularly fond of this specific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2kook4u

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
My family and I love these cookies! They are so tasty and delicious. Only thing is that they do take quite a bit longer to cook then the recipe states. These have been a Christmas cookie staple for 3 years now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Great, great recipe...I used the revisions someone else posted, and they were wonderful...I still have people asking me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Smithfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States