Eggnog Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Soft and delicious. I did add 1 tsp vanilla to the sugar mixture after the eggnog and 1 tsp nutmeg and 1 tsp cinnamon to the flour mixture. I also sprinkled a touch of nutmeg on the iced cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Overall these cookies were great. Kids and husband really enjoyed based on number eaten. :) I added 1 tsp each of cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla. The amount of flour for me was great, I may have even added a bit more...but then I live in the NW US in a higher altitude. Also increased coooking time to 10-12 minutes and added a dash of nutmeg to the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
The rating is based on this altered version, which is a little disingenious; sorry. I followed one of the reviewer's suggestion and added 1 t of cinnamon and nutmeg. I didn't add the vanilla. It's a very flavorful recipe this way and produces very cakey cookies. One thing though is that when I reduced the flour to 2.75c, I found the batter very wet...I guess that should have been obvious. I froze it for about 15 min and that seemed to help a little. Regardless, the cookies came out nicely risen. My second batch though was flat, b/c I tried to fit more cookies on the sheet. I think the glaze will not only add that extra oomph, but will also hide some irregularities of the second batch. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
A great quick recipe! I used 1/2 butter shortening and 1/2 butter... worked great! Love the light nog flavor! Thanks for a great new addition to the holiday cookie menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUEJACKSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
i had to add a lot of spices to give it flavor. i used pumpkin spice eggnog, add 3/4 tsp nutmeg, sprinkled pupkin pie spice and all spice, 1 tsp vanilla. i also add spices to the frosting, i don't like the overly sweet taste of powder sugar so i added all spice, cloves, nutmeg, and pumpkin pie spice. it's an okay recipe.....not a favorite but i will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moondragunz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
recipe is great but i made my own changes to it as i read other reviews i like no love the taste of eggnog as well as my family. So i cut back the flour to 3 cups added a teaspoon and a half of cinn,& a teaspoop and a half fresh nutmeg also added cinn and nutmeg to the frosting big hit in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I made these cookies last year for Christmas. I added the same spices as the person who wrote the previous post/review. They were a hit! I will be making them again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melaina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Just like the eggnog pancakes on this site there were ok. Just not a super strong eggnog taste that I was hoping for! I even made a second batch with additional spices and they still weren't anything over the top yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crystal p
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
love the recipie, but not very eggnoggy?! Added some cinnemon, nutmeg, and vanilla as someone else suggested and only used 2 1/3 cup of flour! Cookies came out fluffy and pretty. Piped eggnog frosting over back and forth and red and green sprinkles very cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal p

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Skowhegan, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
They were pretty good. I made them for the cookie exchange at work. Everyone thought it they were pretty good. I think I am going to experiment and try adding some rum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erie_crowe1974

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Northwood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States