Eggnog Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Yum! My boyfriend couldn't keep his hands off of these! I took advice from some of the other reviews and made a few changes. I cut the spices down by half and upped it to 3/4 c of eggnog. I also made eggnog frosting using powdered sugar, eggnog and a pinch of nutmeg and cinnamon. I dyed the frosting bright yellow to make them a bit more cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
Yes, the nutmeg flavour is strong, they are great warm, but also great when they harden. No, they are not a fancy cut out or decorated cookie but they are so easy to make! I have given them to many people and used them for a cookie exchange and they were a big hit with everyone. My oldest son loves them, my youngest doesn't like them at all. If you like nutmeg, cinnamon, and eggnog, you'll love them. PS. If you don't like them crunchy, substitute brown sugar for all or half of the white sugar; they'll stay soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
My family loved these. I did make a few changes, more eggnog in the cookie dough. Baked for only 15-17 minutes. Made frosting with eggnog, powdered sugar, and nutmeg. Garnished with sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
THESE COOKIES WITH A FEW CHANGES TURNED OUT GREAT LIKE ANOTHER REVIEWER WE USED 1/2 WHITE AND 1/2 BROWN SUGAR ALSO MADE A SECOND BATCH WITH JUST WHITE SUGAR THE ONES WITH THE BROWN SUGAR WERE BETTER BY FAR ALSO ADDED EXTRA EGGNOG. FOR THE FROSTING I USED CAPTAIN MORGAN SPICED RUM. THESE WILL BE USED FOR A COOKIE EXCHANGE THIS WEEKEND. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
Made these yesterday and can tell I will need to make again this week. For those who don't think they look pretty; roll dough into 1" balls and bake. When cool sift with combined powdered sugar and nutmeg. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This is the BEST eggnog cookie I have EVER had!! The only thing I changed was I put about 1/2 cup of eggnog as opposed to the 1/4 cup of eggnog it called for. I think if I had put the requested 1/4 cup in, it would not have been enough to give it that distinctive eggnog flavor. It was just right ~ not too strong, but not bland either. Yummy!! I HIGHLY recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Florida, USA
Living In: Carson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Very yummy!! As others have suggested, I used half the nutmeg (ie. 1/2 tsp) and they were perfect... I did not find them "ugly" like some other reviewers said. Not exactly an elegant cookie, but not ugly - just make your teaspoons of dough a little bit "rounded" and they should be ok. However, I only cooked them for 8-10 minutes -- not the 20-23 minutes called for. Whoa! I would've been calling the fire dept. by then!! DO watch for brown edges on the cookies, and then take them out right away - they will remain nice and soft, even after cooling. I also made sure to use butter, as I had some fairly disappointing results with another cookie recipe recently when I substituted margarine for butter. These are wonderful cookies to share!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This recipe is nice and easy to make. I tried one of the other eggnog cookie recipes and my 4 year old took one bite and gave it back. I tried this one second and everyone loved it. My husband who's a picky eater kept coming back for me. Also, definitely cut the nutmeg portion in half. Otherwise, it will overpower the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELEXAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
I tried this recipe last year at Christmas. It was requested again this year. It is now a holiday tradition! I used a cookie press this year, which makes more attractive cookies. They are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These cookies are very good. However, it did not come without changes to the recipe. Let me start... first, is used butter flavored crisco instead of the butter, used half white sugar and half brown sugar and added only half of the vanilla with the other half being rum flavoring. Plus I'm using a simple cookie frosting using eggnog and rum flavoring. Very good cookie, this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ambia, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States