Eggnog Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
So, I loved it. I increased the eggnog to 3/4 cup and added a touch more flour to compensate. They are VERY sticky going into the oven but come out fabulous. They do look opaque after cooking so I recommend the nutmeg and/or frosting for color. Very moist & a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I liked this recipe as a base since it did turn out nice, soft, cakelike cookies. I did use salted butter and added a 1/2 tsp of salt which was not called for in the recipe. Additionally, I added a generous teaspoon of rum extract along with the vanilla. After they baked I frosted them with a frosting I'd made with conf. sugar, butter, eggnog and more rum and vanilla extracts. With these changes the cookies real tasted like eggnog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
These were good. I wouldn't crave them, or say "I have to make these every year." but they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
These cookies were great...a good way to use up excess eggnog in my fridge! I sprinkled a bit of cinnamon sugar on top afterwards. They were a hit at my work party! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Left a lot to be desired. Even with modification (3/4 cup of eggnog and slightly less spices), these cookies aren't necessarily worth the time investment. They're a bit boring, and perhaps a little dry, but not completely disappointing. I would highly suggest making a simple eggnog icing to make them sweeter/bring out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
too bland and boring. if you don't tell people what the cookie is they would be hard pressed to know it is eggnog - just a cookie w/ some spice but definitely not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
We very much enjoyed these cookies. Followed the recipe exactly as written - I was a little worried, the dough seemed "sticky" but the cookies themselves were wonderful and the last few were still good 48 hours after baking. Thumbs up from my family! Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I like the Eggnog Cookies II (also on this site) better than this one. It adds more flour and helps make a more stable cookie. Both recipes are very easy to make and have a fairly mild eggnog flavor. That is why I like to give them as gifts. The eggnog flavor is not too overpowering. If you are a die hard eggnog fan, these cookies will be too bland for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I will never make these again. They were terribly bland even with adding extra spices as a few readers suggested. They also fell apart pretty easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Made at Christmas. I wanted to make something different this year. These froze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States