Eggnog Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Good recipe with the changes suggested by the other reviewers. I also cut the amount of nutmeg down to 1/4 tsp. I changed the sugar to 1/2 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown. The dough is a little strange when you drop by a teaspoon so I put the dough into a ziploc bag and then cut a corner to make my cookie mounds. I then wet my finger with water and pushed down in the middle of the cookie to give it a better shape. This made beautiful round cookies. I did not sprinkle any additional nutmeg on the cookie since I feel it is such a strong spice. After baking, I iced the cookies with a powdered sugar icing mixed with rum. This gave the cookie an extra zing. I only wish that the recipe would have used up more of my eggnog but I am now looking at a bundt cake that uses leftover nog or french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Pretty good cookies, I did use 2x as much eggnog and did the sugar 1/2 brown 1/2 white. Tasty and different. Mine stayed soft - maybe should have cooked longer so they would get crispier. But still enjoyed them for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
the eggnog flavor is mild with a little nutmeg flavor which is perfect, crispy on the edge and a little chewy in the center...so delicious. it took me 30 min of baking to have the bottoms turn light brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Amazing!!! I'm not an EggNog fan but my husband is, so I gave the recipe a try. I made a frosting to go with the cookies: I blended cream cheese with icing sugar, eggnog, pinch of cinnamon, and a pinch of nutmeg. The perfect pair to these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I did what the other reviewers suggested and upped the eggnog to 3/4 cup of eggnog and went half and half with white sugar and brown sugar. They weren't turning out to be the most beautiful cookies so I chilled the dough in the fridge and rolled them into balls and then flattened them a tad right before sticking them into the oven. Flavor was great, just perfect for me and my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASPENWALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Made these cookies combining the changes that were recommended, they were great. I ended up using 1/2 brown sugar, and a little more eggnog. A basic glaze-frosting worked out the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I made these cookies for a cookie exchange and they turned out great. My family enjoyed them and we're looking forward to baking these every year. I followed the recipe to the letter and added the eggnog frosting as well. YUM, YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mayyadasmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Great cookies, yum! Although, they were made a LOT better with a dash of Rum Extract... I would definitely suggest that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SBG
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I had just purchased some Eggnog cookies at a bake sale and they were so good had to run home and recreate. This recipe was exactly what I was looking for! I did tweak it based on others reviews (I used a little more eggnog and only 1/2 tsp. vanilla)..but the one thing I copied from the bake sale cookies that I thought really added a lot of flavor was after the batter was mixed, I folded in about 1/2 cup pecan pieces. I used the powdered sugar/eggnog frosting and then sprinkled a few pecan pieces on the top. I also shaped them into longer cookies..just because that's what they looked like at the bake sale, but I'm sure they'd be just as cute round. A yummy addition to my cookie swap this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These cookies are very good. However, it did not come without changes to the recipe. Let me start... first, is used butter flavored crisco instead of the butter, used half white sugar and half brown sugar and added only half of the vanilla with the other half being rum flavoring. Plus I'm using a simple cookie frosting using eggnog and rum flavoring. Very good cookie, this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ambia, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States