Eggnog Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Amazing!!! I'm not an EggNog fan but my husband is, so I gave the recipe a try. I made a frosting to go with the cookies: I blended cream cheese with icing sugar, eggnog, pinch of cinnamon, and a pinch of nutmeg. The perfect pair to these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I did what the other reviewers suggested and upped the eggnog to 3/4 cup of eggnog and went half and half with white sugar and brown sugar. They weren't turning out to be the most beautiful cookies so I chilled the dough in the fridge and rolled them into balls and then flattened them a tad right before sticking them into the oven. Flavor was great, just perfect for me and my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASPENWALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Made these cookies combining the changes that were recommended, they were great. I ended up using 1/2 brown sugar, and a little more eggnog. A basic glaze-frosting worked out the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I made these cookies for a cookie exchange and they turned out great. My family enjoyed them and we're looking forward to baking these every year. I followed the recipe to the letter and added the eggnog frosting as well. YUM, YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mayyadasmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Great cookies, yum! Although, they were made a LOT better with a dash of Rum Extract... I would definitely suggest that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SBG
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I had just purchased some Eggnog cookies at a bake sale and they were so good had to run home and recreate. This recipe was exactly what I was looking for! I did tweak it based on others reviews (I used a little more eggnog and only 1/2 tsp. vanilla)..but the one thing I copied from the bake sale cookies that I thought really added a lot of flavor was after the batter was mixed, I folded in about 1/2 cup pecan pieces. I used the powdered sugar/eggnog frosting and then sprinkled a few pecan pieces on the top. I also shaped them into longer cookies..just because that's what they looked like at the bake sale, but I'm sure they'd be just as cute round. A yummy addition to my cookie swap this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These cookies are very good. However, it did not come without changes to the recipe. Let me start... first, is used butter flavored crisco instead of the butter, used half white sugar and half brown sugar and added only half of the vanilla with the other half being rum flavoring. Plus I'm using a simple cookie frosting using eggnog and rum flavoring. Very good cookie, this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Very good. Wonderful cookies. I also made the icing, but be careful. A little bit goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I took the others suggestions and cut the nutmeg in half, increased the eggnog to 3/4 cup and used all brown sugar. I did have to bake them for 20 minutes, but I am at high altitude too. I also made a frosting of powered sugar, eggnog and 1/2 teaspoon rum flavoring, then sprinkled chopped pecans on top. Hubby was skeptical, until he tasted one - Glad I made a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
While not a fancy looking cookie, the taste is absolutely awesome. My family loved them!! Upped the eggnog a little and decreased the nutmeg only slightly. (Note that nutmeg is notorius for overpowering a recipe, esp if it's good quality and a fresh new jar - so go easy...you can always add more). I iced them with eggnog frosting to dress them up for a cookie exchange, but they were delicious on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States