Eggnog Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I made these last night for a cookie tray. They smelled wonderful as they were baking. I doubled the nutmeg to give them a little more flavor. As is, I would give the recipe 3 stars, but I added a eggnog frosting to help them taste like eggnog (not just a sugar cookie) which bumped them up to 4 stars. Eggnog Frosting: 1/2 cup butter (beat until fluffly), beat with 3 c. powdered sugar, add 1/2 tsp. brandy extract and 4 TBSP. eggnog, beat an additional 2 min. *I added a few drops of yellow food coloring to the frosting to give it the look of eggnog. Overall, the cookie was good, but don't expect amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I made a couple batches of these last Christmas, and people really loved them! I plan to make them again this year, however, I double the nutmeg and sprinkle extra nutmeg on when I bake them - makes for a more "eggnogy" flavor...otherwise, they taste a little like plain (but good) sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
I was looking for a different kind of cookie to make this Christmas and I saw this recipe and thought I'd give it a try. I had my toughest critic taste it, my husband and he loved them. I thought they were easy to make and taste great. Leslie73
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
YUM!!! We made this tonight, and will be making at least two more batches for various family functions - I know the first one isn't going to make it until next week! These are tasty, but very plain looking. After the first sheet full, I sprinkled nutmeg over the tops - it really helps both the appearance and flavor. If you don't want to sprinkle more on top, then double the amt of nutmeg to get that eggnog flavor. My son loves eggnog, and he fell in love with these cookies! One note - my batter was really sticky, even after being refrigerated for quite a long time. It was humid here though, so it could have used some extra flour. I really liked them as well - of course, I like eggnog, but I also don't like super sweet cookies - these are more rich than sweet, which is just fine with me! To bake them, we used parchment paper over cookie sheets - I'd doubt these cookies will easily come off much of anything else! Just the nature of the cooky. They did just great, with no problems on burning or sticking. Thanks for sharing a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
Very nice taste, but a little tough to get off the baking sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This recipe won the annual Christmas Cookie Contest at my mom's house last year. I made them on foil and peeled the foil off, and they came off great. I also drizzled white chocolate across the top to add a little pizzaz. This dough is very versitile, since you can made the base without the nutmeg and then divide it into three bowls, add nutmeg to one for eggnog cookies, white chocolate chips to another, and molasses and ginger/cinnamon to another and get three different kinds of cookies from one mixing of dough. If you beat the dough a long time the cookies turn out nice and chewey. If they are too flat for you, just add a little more flour to the recipe. I always bake a test batch before I put the flour in the fridge for any reason. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bushka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I rarely add salt to dishes like this. So I just didn't add the salt. The butter has some in it after all. And it wasn't needed. They were still wonderful, and tasty, without the salt. I liked how soft, and almost cake like the cookie can be. They plump up beautifully. It's definitly a keeper. I found, however, the cookie was too sweet! Some said rich, but I found it was sweet. I'll be cutting the 2 cups of sugar to 1 1/2 cups next time, and hope that's enough of a reduction. After reading the recipe was kind of bland, in terms of seasonings, I spiced it up, adding 1 tsp Cinnamon, 1/4 Allspice, 1/4 tsp Ginger, 1/2 tsp Cloves in addition to the 1/2 tsp Nutmeg, since this is how I spice my eggnog drink. It seemed logical to me to season eggnog cookies the same way. The spicing was good, and I will keep the measurements as is. Makes for a spicy cookie, but not too spicy (at least not for me). I used rum extract in my frosting, instead of vanilla. I really liked that addition. Though I haven't figured out exactly how much extract to use to make sure it's enough, but not overpowering. I'm still playing with that. Perhaps when I figure out how much I like I'll update this message. :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
These cookies were easy to make, and I could taste the eggnog flavor, but they reminded me of vanilla wafers. There was nothing to draw your attention to them on a platter of cookies. They were very plain looking, and rather non-descript. I will pass on making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I liked these, as did my husband (who is not a fan of egg-nogg). Per posted reviews I both increased the nutmeg in the recipe, and sprinkled the tops of the cookies. I also added about 1/2 tsp cloves. It took me a batch or two to nail down when to take them out (on stone cookie sheet they took considerably longer suggested). Make them small - they spread quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachycez
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
sooo good. A nice twist on the simple sugar cookie. I doubled the vanilla extract and rolled the drops of dough in a sugar/nutmeg mixture before baking, which gave them a festive sparkly sheen. I think they taste adaquetely eggnog-y although I'm sure the addition of rum extract other reviewers have used would really make these outstanding. I just didn't feel like buying something that'd sit in my spice cabinet for 10 years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States