Eggnog Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I loved these! I made them exactly as the recipe called for except I replaced the vanilla extract with rum extract which I really think helped give them that eggnog flavor. I also used fresh nutmeg. Overall, I got many compliments on the flavor of these cookies. Be careful when baking because they bake up really quickly and you want to take them out of the oven when they are barely golden on the bottom and edges in order to retain their soft texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Dough tastes more like eggnog than the cookie does after it's baked - both are equally delicious though! They were a hit with all who ate them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tristenshout

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I was kind of disappointed in these after so many reviews. Even with doubling the nutmeg, as others did, and adding 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and a couple dashes of clove, I found them kind of bland. Also, they did not spread as much as I expected causing the midde to not be done when the edges were getting crisp. I gave this 4 stars because I added some pumpkin pie spice to the last couple dozen and some chopped pecans I had on hand and wanted to get rid of- then I smooshed them down a little so they would be flatter. After doing this they were absolutely delicious. Also, yield I got was over 5 dozen...Recommended with adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These cookies were delicious and very easy to make! I doubled the amount of nutmeg and added some cinnamon. They had a nice eggnog taste, which wasn't overpowering. Soft, chewy and delicious! I'm going to add this recipe to my list to make each Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
My husband promptly declared these the best thing I'd ever baked! I used Rum extract instead of vanilla and added extra nutmeg. Delish! Great eggnog flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I liked these, as did my husband (who is not a fan of egg-nogg). Per posted reviews I both increased the nutmeg in the recipe, and sprinkled the tops of the cookies. I also added about 1/2 tsp cloves. It took me a batch or two to nail down when to take them out (on stone cookie sheet they took considerably longer suggested). Make them small - they spread quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachycez
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
sooo good. A nice twist on the simple sugar cookie. I doubled the vanilla extract and rolled the drops of dough in a sugar/nutmeg mixture before baking, which gave them a festive sparkly sheen. I think they taste adaquetely eggnog-y although I'm sure the addition of rum extract other reviewers have used would really make these outstanding. I just didn't feel like buying something that'd sit in my spice cabinet for 10 years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I made these a few days ago and they were really tasty the only problem was I was disappointed they didn't taste like eggnog
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I made a few changes - doubled the nutmeg and added eggnog icing that another reviewer posted. Without these changes the cookies were fairly plain and only a 3-star. However, this is the 3rd year I've made them and with these changes my husband loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vauxhall, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
A nice, soft cookie. Needs a decorative icing to make it more festive and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZMUM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States