Eggnog Cheesecake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
One of the easiest cheesecakes I've ever made. And though not fancy, it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
So good. I put nutmeg and cinnamon in the crust, add 1 whole cup of eggnog, and up the rum to 3 TB. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
SO good! The perfect elegant, yet not too challenging holiday dessert. I had plenty of eggnog leftover from making my yearly eggnog Christmas cookies and wanted to make a cheesecake for a family Christmas celebration, so it made perfect sense. I followed several different suggestions and made some minor adjustments to the original recipe. I will admit, that although I've made enough cheesecakes that I would say I'm a fairly experienced cheesecake baker I have never prepared my batter in a food processor so I was a little nervous but since I already had the processor out to make my crust I thought I'd give it a go, and it worked out great, plus I didn't dirty up my mixer! The changes I made are as follows: - for the crust I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg - I upped the eggnog to 1 cup in the batter - replaced the rum with 1 Tbsp vanilla extract - added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg to batter Also, unlike many of the users I did not use a waterbath, nor have I ever. The consistency was great and no cracks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great recipe! A traditional recipe at Examiner.com (see link below) calls for 2 tsp of rum extract in lieu of the 2 tablespoons of rum for those wanting to go lighter on the rum. I also wouldn't serve it without either carmel topping or the traditional carmel rum sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmj.nh
Home Town: Hooksett, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Absolutely amazing! I got rave reviews when I made this for Christmas. This will be my go-to recipe for cheesecake from now on...only thing I would recommend is not loosening the cheesecake from the ring immediately...my cheesecake had come out of the oven without any cracks and once I tried to remove the ring from the springform pan, I got a big crack, which was a dissapointment. I used a water bath also, always makes a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this for a Progressive Dinner my neighborhood had. It was a big hit! Even people who said they weren't fans of eggnog enjoyed it. I followed the recipe to a t and it was amazing. The only bad thing was that my cheesecake cracked a little in the middle while cooling. I later found out it was because I over- mixed the ingredients. It was my first time making cheesecake so I wasn't really sure what I was doing. Everyone still loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was such a hit last Christmas, everyone requested it again this year. This year I added an extra 1/4 cup of eggnog and topped the cooled cheesecake with a butter rum sauce with chopped toasted pecans. fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I made this for a Christmas eve family gathering instead of my usual cheesecake and everyone loved it! Definitely filling but has a great texture and the egg nog flavor comes through just right, although I think I'll add 3-4T rum next time to kick it up a bit. I made my own graham cracker crust using 12 crushed cinnamon grahams, 1/2 tsp each nutmeg/cinnamon, 3T each white sugar/melted butter (no need to bake...just keep in fridge until butter sets). I topped it with homemade whipped cream...1 cup heavy cream, 3T confectioner's sugar, 1T rum and 1/4 tsp cinnamon. Keeping this one to make for New Year's and future holiday parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
great recipe. Too bad the cooking instructions ruined it. NO cheesecake will ever set if cooked as directed. Bake it at 325 for at least 1.25 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This had good flavor, but never set up. I cooked it twice as long as recommended and it still had the texture of custard. I did cook it in a bath of water as recommended by a previous review, so that probably slowed the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States