Eggnog Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
delicious, and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Real Cake Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I am giving this recipe a 5 because my customers loved it. I on the other hand thought the rum flavor was a bit overpowering. However, I did use a very strong rum from Trinidad. Next time I will half the rum and it should be much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Real Cake Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This cheescake was talk of the christmas party this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Wales, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiburdan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: May Pen, Clarendon, Jamaica
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I always make a basic cheesecake since my family doesn't like change. I threw caution to the wind and made this recipe for a New Year's Eve party. It was a hit - all the men just loved it! Bacardi Select dark rum makes all the difference. The sauce was the reason - since prior reviews indicated the sauce was runny, I cut the water down to 3/4 cup. The secret is to bring the sauce to a boil and continue boiling for 5 more minutes while stirring constantly. Remove from heat and then add the rum. This is how the glaze for Rum Cake is made so I figured that had to be the way to make it thicker and it worked like a charm. I also added a touch of Watkin's vanilla for more flavor. I will note that the texture on this cake is very dense and somewhat crumbly, not like my usual creamy cheesecake. I will now make this every year for New Year's Eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taco Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Oh Boy was this tasty. I brought this to a dinner party and everyone seemed to like it a lot. I used the reduced fat cream cheese and golden rum was on sale and dark wasn't, so I used golden. I personally wasn't crazy about the caramel sauce, but it disappeared so maybe I am just weird. I made 1.5 times the recipe for the sauce and used a tad more cornstarch since it seems other reviews thought the sauce was runny. If I was making this just for myself, I'd use caramel ice cream topping, and add in the rum and pecans. I am sure I'll make this again for another gathering. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
We loved this. I changed it a little and made it with a grahm cracker crust because that is what I had on hand, and used caremel ice cream topping too. It was very creamy and smooth. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
This got rave reviews at the last event I brought it to. However, the rum flavoring was a little strong for my taste, and I would probably tone it down next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
It may be easy, but it is way too rich. We couldn't finish it. The Sauce was also very runny. Not one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Although the holidays have passed, I'm still making this cheesecake. I made it twice during December -- once for a friend's holiday party, the other for Christmas dessert -- and both times it was a big hit! A family friend asked me to bring it to a get-together this weekend. It's a winner with or without the pecan caramel sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States