Eggnog Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This cheescake was talk of the christmas party this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Wales, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiburdan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: May Pen, Clarendon, Jamaica
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I always make a basic cheesecake since my family doesn't like change. I threw caution to the wind and made this recipe for a New Year's Eve party. It was a hit - all the men just loved it! Bacardi Select dark rum makes all the difference. The sauce was the reason - since prior reviews indicated the sauce was runny, I cut the water down to 3/4 cup. The secret is to bring the sauce to a boil and continue boiling for 5 more minutes while stirring constantly. Remove from heat and then add the rum. This is how the glaze for Rum Cake is made so I figured that had to be the way to make it thicker and it worked like a charm. I also added a touch of Watkin's vanilla for more flavor. I will note that the texture on this cake is very dense and somewhat crumbly, not like my usual creamy cheesecake. I will now make this every year for New Year's Eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taco Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Oh Boy was this tasty. I brought this to a dinner party and everyone seemed to like it a lot. I used the reduced fat cream cheese and golden rum was on sale and dark wasn't, so I used golden. I personally wasn't crazy about the caramel sauce, but it disappeared so maybe I am just weird. I made 1.5 times the recipe for the sauce and used a tad more cornstarch since it seems other reviews thought the sauce was runny. If I was making this just for myself, I'd use caramel ice cream topping, and add in the rum and pecans. I am sure I'll make this again for another gathering. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
We loved this. I changed it a little and made it with a grahm cracker crust because that is what I had on hand, and used caremel ice cream topping too. It was very creamy and smooth. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
This got rave reviews at the last event I brought it to. However, the rum flavoring was a little strong for my taste, and I would probably tone it down next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
It may be easy, but it is way too rich. We couldn't finish it. The Sauce was also very runny. Not one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Although the holidays have passed, I'm still making this cheesecake. I made it twice during December -- once for a friend's holiday party, the other for Christmas dessert -- and both times it was a big hit! A family friend asked me to bring it to a get-together this weekend. It's a winner with or without the pecan caramel sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Yum!! I would definitly make this again. Came out perfect. I don't even like egg nog but I loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I had never made a "real" cheesecake before. This recipe was easy and it tasted great. My father-in-law said that it was better than at a restaurant. I did bake it longer than the recipe recommended because the middle took longer to cook. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States