Eggnog Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Just tried this recipe for Thanksgiving and it is super. I made it in mini-loaf pans and baked for 40 minutes to give to neighbors. Fantastic butter-rum flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
A new holiday tradition for me! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Saw that others stated it was dry...I changed butter to 1/2c. ..no longer need shortening and change 3/4c. milk to 1/2c. sour cream and 1/2c. buttermilk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superfinechef
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
People that don't like eggnog love this cake. I took it to a cookout last night and it disappeared in minutes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
After reading other reviewers' comments, I followed some advice and made the following alterations: I substituted eggnog (and I used 1 cup versus 3/4 cup), and vanilla extract. I added a cup of rum-soaked dried berries (blueberry, cherry, cranberry). I baked in a bundt pan rather than a loaf pan, and watched cooking times very carefully. The results were delicious -- this was a hit at the day-after-christmas-breakfast with my family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Love this recipe...the only thing I change is I use a bit more spice (I add 1/2 tsp cinnamon, double the nutmeg and a bit more ginger), and substitute the milk for eggnog, so mine is less subtle. The texture is great, the flavour amazing. Excellent as a gift - I bake mine in mini silicone stars for Christmas! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Wonderfull!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
This cake is very rich, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I thought this cake was a little bland but would do good at a Christmas function.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
A decent cake, but slightly dry and not very much like a true pound cake. I substituted vanilla extract for the rum extract. Watch your baking time - I checked my cake at 55 minutes and it was already burnt on the sides. Probably could have baked it only 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States