Eggnog Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
3 Stars for potential. I concur with other reviewers who state that this is a DRY cake. If you are expecting a true pound cake this is NOT the recipe for you. Some enhancements I made that you might consider: using all butter instead of part shortening, part butter; using a good commercial egg nog to replace the milk (I used Old New England brand egg nog that has booze added; find at wine shops and liquor stores). Also NOTE--the recipe time is definitely wrong for a loaf pan of this size. At most you're looking at 50 min. baking time. All in all a recipe that could be spectacular with some tinkering........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
A decent cake, but slightly dry and not very much like a true pound cake. I substituted vanilla extract for the rum extract. Watch your baking time - I checked my cake at 55 minutes and it was already burnt on the sides. Probably could have baked it only 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
My family thought this cake was really dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
A new holiday tradition for me! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
The flavor was excellent, but I was expecting true "pound cake". I should have known from the amount of butter that this has the texture of regular cake, not pound cake. It's good sliced and then pan fried in butter til golden brown - if you like a richer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I thought this cake was a little bland but would do good at a Christmas function.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
People that don't like eggnog love this cake. I took it to a cookout last night and it disappeared in minutes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
This cake is very rich, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States