Eggnog Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Saw that others stated it was dry...I changed butter to 1/2c. ..no longer need shortening and change 3/4c. milk to 1/2c. sour cream and 1/2c. buttermilk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superfinechef
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Just tried this recipe for Thanksgiving and it is super. I made it in mini-loaf pans and baked for 40 minutes to give to neighbors. Fantastic butter-rum flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
People that don't like eggnog love this cake. I took it to a cookout last night and it disappeared in minutes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
A new holiday tradition for me! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Love this recipe...the only thing I change is I use a bit more spice (I add 1/2 tsp cinnamon, double the nutmeg and a bit more ginger), and substitute the milk for eggnog, so mine is less subtle. The texture is great, the flavour amazing. Excellent as a gift - I bake mine in mini silicone stars for Christmas! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
After reading other reviewers' comments, I followed some advice and made the following alterations: I substituted eggnog (and I used 1 cup versus 3/4 cup), and vanilla extract. I added a cup of rum-soaked dried berries (blueberry, cherry, cranberry). I baked in a bundt pan rather than a loaf pan, and watched cooking times very carefully. The results were delicious -- this was a hit at the day-after-christmas-breakfast with my family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Wonderfull!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
This cake is very rich, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I thought this cake was a little bland but would do good at a Christmas function.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
A decent cake, but slightly dry and not very much like a true pound cake. I substituted vanilla extract for the rum extract. Watch your baking time - I checked my cake at 55 minutes and it was already burnt on the sides. Probably could have baked it only 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States