Eggnog Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
3 Stars for potential. I concur with other reviewers who state that this is a DRY cake. If you are expecting a true pound cake this is NOT the recipe for you. Some enhancements I made that you might consider: using all butter instead of part shortening, part butter; using a good commercial egg nog to replace the milk (I used Old New England brand egg nog that has booze added; find at wine shops and liquor stores). Also NOTE--the recipe time is definitely wrong for a loaf pan of this size. At most you're looking at 50 min. baking time. All in all a recipe that could be spectacular with some tinkering........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
After reading other reviewers' comments, I followed some advice and made the following alterations: I substituted eggnog (and I used 1 cup versus 3/4 cup), and vanilla extract. I added a cup of rum-soaked dried berries (blueberry, cherry, cranberry). I baked in a bundt pan rather than a loaf pan, and watched cooking times very carefully. The results were delicious -- this was a hit at the day-after-christmas-breakfast with my family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
People that don't like eggnog love this cake. I took it to a cookout last night and it disappeared in minutes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Like other reviewers suggested I used egg nog instead of milk and vanilla extract instead of rum. I also carefully watching the baking time and at around 50 minutes the tooth pick came out clean all over the cake so I took it out of the oven. However after the cake cooled it practically crumbled when I cut it, and yet there were still mini lumps of flour mixture inside the cake despite mixing thoroughly. I also didn't think it tasted much like egg nog even though I used it! Sorry, too bland and time consuming for a not-so-great result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
A new holiday tradition for me! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Just tried this recipe for Thanksgiving and it is super. I made it in mini-loaf pans and baked for 40 minutes to give to neighbors. Fantastic butter-rum flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Good cake to go with tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
The flavor was excellent, but I was expecting true "pound cake". I should have known from the amount of butter that this has the texture of regular cake, not pound cake. It's good sliced and then pan fried in butter til golden brown - if you like a richer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Good flavor, but not a true pound cake texture. My family thought it was to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
My family thought this cake was really dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States