Eggnog Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I make this every year for the holidays. This is the first year that I have been married and made it for my husband and he practically licked his plate clean. The only change I make is to use cool whip with the rum extract and nutmeg. Thanks for this heavenly recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Wow! This cake was amazing! My MIL made it for New Years and boy was it a treat! The only thing she did different was she used rum instead of rum extract because that's all she had. It still turned out great! Very moist and rich. A real show stopper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monica
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I would make this cake again with some alterations. It was way too sweet. I don't believe 2 cups of eggnog are necessary for the filling. I will use 1/2 cup of milk and 1 1/2 cups of eggnog for the filling the next time. I will also use 3/4 cup of sugar for the frosting rather than 1 1/4 cups of sugar. You can always add more sugar to taste to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kuteketch
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I've made this cake three times now! It is so good! I follow the directions exactly as stated. For the eggnog, I use Southern Comfort Vanilla Spice. Yum!!!! I haven't made the frosting. I just use the pudding in between the cake layers ( I make two rounds) and then also put the pudding on top. The pudding recipe is plenty and you will even have a little left over. Love love love this recipe!!! Thanks!! *I will also post my pic. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena_Lodahl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beeville, Texas, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Very festive and wonderful cake! I bake alot and everyone loved this cake! Thanks for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I was so disappointed with this recipe. Followed the recipe to a T. The cake was just ok. Tasted like regular boxed mix to me. The filling was not spreadable at all and the icing was beyond sweet. Add super sweet icing on top of a bland cake with thick looking filling and you get something that just isn't eatable. Maybe a kid with a sweet tooth will like this, but it won't be on my table again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
For an easy icing just mix eggnog and powdered sugar...sprinkle nutmeg over and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASEYNJASON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This recipe was really great! I did make some alterations - I used a white cake mix instead of yellow, I didn't have rum extract, I used vanilla instead, I also used oil instead of butter. I baked in a 10x13 pan and didn't use the filling. For the icing, I used 500ml of whipping cream, 1cup of icing sugar, 1/2cup of eggnog & 1 pkg instant vanilla pudding. This cake was super moist & even my husband who doesn't like eggnog loved this cake. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Great recipe for eggnog lovers. Makes a lot of filling so used it as frosting as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States