Eggless Tofu Spinach Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I thought this recipe was excellent. I did make a few changes though. I used a 14oz package of tofu, rinsed and patted dry. I used 2/3 cup soy milk and about 1 1/2 cups pepperjack cheese which gave it a nice kick. I added mushrooms, a little dry mustard and a little nutmeg. And finally, instead of the crust I used the mandolin to slice some sweet potatoes and made a 'crust' out of that. I probably used about 2 tbsp olive oil in the bottom of the pan to prevent sticking. I cooked it on the bottom rack at 400 for about 45 minutes until the sweet potatoes looked golden brown from the bottom. Yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westernville, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
I used fresh spinach - I am a vegetarian who needs a balanced set of vitamins and minerals to be happy :) so I added in a wealth of other vegetables - finely chopped brocolli, carrots, zucchini, red pepper (despite protests from other reviewers, brocolli really does add something to this recipe). My only warning would be there are many many subtle differences between tofu's - make sure you use a less bitter/sour type (some are relatively flavourless and you cannot taste the fermented flavour as much - these are better for this recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
This is a delicious recipe for vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike. I have played around with it a bit at times adding different seasonings or different cheeses, but have remained true to the original poster. This is a keeper and great for breakfast, brunch, lunch, dinner, picnics, you name it. As a vegetarian, it was an easy to make meal that tasted great and I couldn't taste the tofu. In fact, I don't necessarily like the taste of raw tofu, but if you compare that to say chicken or any other meat that you simply stuck in the oven without proper preparation or seasoning, you probably would say it tasted pretty bad, too. If you are unsure about it, honestly try it once before saying that you don't like it. It's a great dish that everyone will enjoy. Just save yourself some grief and don't tell anyone that it has tofu in it. :) UPDATE: I highly recommend prebaking the crust for at least 10 minutes to get your crust to hold up well for this recipe. If you don't, it's ok, but it is even better when it is prebaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
This dish goes so fast at my house that I double the recipe, omit the crust and bake in a casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
For those who are looking to cut the fat even more than just getting the eggs out - I substituted the recipe to include skim milk, crumbled feta cheese (4 ounces) and grated parmigiano-reggiano cheese (6 tablesppons), and it turned out pretty well. I could'nt tell you the fat content difference, but the calorie content have been cut to less than half (136 calories per serving). I also drained the tofu between paper towels, afterwards let it sit on tap water for a few minutes then drain it again - it was virtually "tofu-taste"-free as a result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
The Texture was amazingly like a normal Quiche. The taste was wonderful, I went without the crust as one of the other posts had suggested. It was wonderful, will definitely make again! To add a little "egg" coloring I added 1tsp of powdered Mustard. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScullyKel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This was pretty good, but next time I would use more than the suggested 8 oz of tofu, as the tofu-to-spinach ratio was definitely not to my taste- the quiche was almost entirely green! In my area, most tofu comes in 12 or 16 oz packages, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This was really easy to make and turned out pretty well. I would recommend less garlic and more salt and pepper as it seemed pretty bland with just what the recipe called for. I only used half of the spinach in the package. I would also suggest getting a tofu that does not have a strong taste, as mine had that tofu taste, which my family did not like. One last thing I would do would be to cook it a little longer so that the crust is really brown. The 30 minutes that the recipe called for made my quiche a little mushy. I had to cook it longer, then it was perfect. As far as the crust goes, I would suggest getting the Marie Calendars Pie Crust, it was great! Otherwise, it was very good and easy to make with a few revisions for personal taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by humangiant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This is one of my all-time favorite tofu dishes. I love that the basic recipe is simple to amend to use up any leftover veggies and cheeses in the fridge. My favorite combination to date uses crescent roll dough for the crust and contains a dash of lemon juice and about 2 tablespoons of dill in the filling to give it a tangy herbal kick. In my opinion, it's worth firing up the oven even in July to make this easy and delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
This was EXCELLENT! It's the only thing I've ever eaten with tofu that I've liked remotely! Changes I made were: do it crustless, who needs the hassel and the fat! Also, sauted the onions with garlic ahead, used 1/2 t. dry mustard for color and flavor, replaced the swiss with pepper jack cheese, and added a small package (29 cent kind) of thin ham chopped - as I'm not vegetarian. My kids even ate this - real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States