Eggless Tofu Spinach Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I omitted the crust, added mushrooms and boiled fresh spinach with the onion as one previous reviewer had mentioned. I also used soft tofu because the recipe didn't specify. So this is more like a dip or topping for some nice crostini but the taste is pretty good. Perhaps if you follow the RECIPE it will turn out more like quiche but mine is a dip! tasty dip though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I thought this recipe was excellent. I did make a few changes though. I used a 14oz package of tofu, rinsed and patted dry. I used 2/3 cup soy milk and about 1 1/2 cups pepperjack cheese which gave it a nice kick. I added mushrooms, a little dry mustard and a little nutmeg. And finally, instead of the crust I used the mandolin to slice some sweet potatoes and made a 'crust' out of that. I probably used about 2 tbsp olive oil in the bottom of the pan to prevent sticking. I cooked it on the bottom rack at 400 for about 45 minutes until the sweet potatoes looked golden brown from the bottom. Yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westernville, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
We really enjoyed this. If I could find a healthier crust, I would make it more often. It had a more dinner feel than traditional egg quiches. We used 2% cheddar. Since there is no low-fat cheddar, next time we'll use fat-free and maybe add some other veggie like cauliflower or brocolli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Not a repeat at our house. The quiche mixture is too thick and just doesn't have a nice mouth-feel, at least for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
I was looking for something to make with tofu. After following everyone's advice and baking as suggested, I thought it wasn't very tasty. Sorry to say, but it seemed to be missing eggs :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Very good and easy, always a hit at pot lucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
This recipe was great! I did take some of the advice above and added more tofu. I used all 10oz of spinach, 16 oz of tofu and added a squash and zuchinni along with 2/3 cup of milk instead of the 1/3 and more cheese. It turned out fabulous! I had never made anything with tofu before and my non-loving tofu family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I'm not sure what I did wrong (I followed the recipe exactly as written), but it had a terrible taste. I was very excited to make this, so it was a big letdown. I'm wondering if it was the brand of tofu I purchased? Hmm. Not sure if I'll try it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This is great! My husband didn't even know it was a vegetarian dish. It was a hit with my family. I make this dish without the pie crust and it comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
This tasted REALLY GOOD!! Except I didnt clean the spinach well so there was like rock kind of stuff in my quiche :( be careful of that! So easy to make.. very interesting taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States