Eggless Tofu Spinach Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I omitted the crust, added mushrooms and boiled fresh spinach with the onion as one previous reviewer had mentioned. I also used soft tofu because the recipe didn't specify. So this is more like a dip or topping for some nice crostini but the taste is pretty good. Perhaps if you follow the RECIPE it will turn out more like quiche but mine is a dip! tasty dip though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I thought this recipe was excellent. I did make a few changes though. I used a 14oz package of tofu, rinsed and patted dry. I used 2/3 cup soy milk and about 1 1/2 cups pepperjack cheese which gave it a nice kick. I added mushrooms, a little dry mustard and a little nutmeg. And finally, instead of the crust I used the mandolin to slice some sweet potatoes and made a 'crust' out of that. I probably used about 2 tbsp olive oil in the bottom of the pan to prevent sticking. I cooked it on the bottom rack at 400 for about 45 minutes until the sweet potatoes looked golden brown from the bottom. Yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westernville, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
We really enjoyed this. If I could find a healthier crust, I would make it more often. It had a more dinner feel than traditional egg quiches. We used 2% cheddar. Since there is no low-fat cheddar, next time we'll use fat-free and maybe add some other veggie like cauliflower or brocolli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Not a repeat at our house. The quiche mixture is too thick and just doesn't have a nice mouth-feel, at least for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
I was looking for something to make with tofu. After following everyone's advice and baking as suggested, I thought it wasn't very tasty. Sorry to say, but it seemed to be missing eggs :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Very good and easy, always a hit at pot lucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
This recipe was great! I did take some of the advice above and added more tofu. I used all 10oz of spinach, 16 oz of tofu and added a squash and zuchinni along with 2/3 cup of milk instead of the 1/3 and more cheese. It turned out fabulous! I had never made anything with tofu before and my non-loving tofu family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I'm not sure what I did wrong (I followed the recipe exactly as written), but it had a terrible taste. I was very excited to make this, so it was a big letdown. I'm wondering if it was the brand of tofu I purchased? Hmm. Not sure if I'll try it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This is great! My husband didn't even know it was a vegetarian dish. It was a hit with my family. I make this dish without the pie crust and it comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
This tasted REALLY GOOD!! Except I didnt clean the spinach well so there was like rock kind of stuff in my quiche :( be careful of that! So easy to make.. very interesting taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States