Eggless Tofu Spinach Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I added steamed asparagus along with the spinach. The tofu didn't look like it was going to come together at first- it looked a bit like curdled milk in the mixer. But lo and behold, once it baked (in a pre-baked crust) for about 45 minutes, it firmed up quite nicely. Since I can't have egg yolk anymore, this was a great sub. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nymbus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Photo by AKOEPPE
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This recipe was delicious! We love tofu at my house so this was just another reason to cook it! I cooked the crust for a little ahead of time so that it wasn't mushy. I also left it in the oven for a good hour instead of the 35 minutes suggested. I kept checking to make sure the crust stayed golden... I think next time, I'll make the crust from sliced sweet potatoes as someone else suggested, I think I might prefer that to a white flour crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKOEPPE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This quiche was full of flavor and everyone (a bunch of picky eaters) loved it. I made it for a bridal shower where the bride was a vegetarian and even she liked it. Even my sister, with high-end tastes for food and is quite a critic of my cooking, enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I made my own crust by sifting/whisking 1 cup all purpose unbleached fl & a 1/3 cup w.w. fl or half & half with 1/2 tsp of salt. Then mixing 1/2 cup melted margarine or vegetable oil with 2-3 Tblsps half & half or other cold milk or even water. Combine the wet & dry, stir as little as possible. Pat into pan. I did not use black pepper (I've heard it's not good for your health), instead of salt in the filling I used seasoned salt, I also added at least a Tblsp of nutritional/brewer's yeast flakes. For cheese I just used what I had on hand a blend of shredded Colby & Monterrey Jack. It was soo good soo delicious. I did have to bake it 20 mins longer than directions say. Turned out perfectly. I have some artichoke hearts & have been trying to decide how I want to use them. As an afterthought I thought they may go well thrown into the mix. I will definitely make again & maybe try adding some small artichoke pieces. Thank-you for this recipe! Everyone who tried it loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debrac1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This recipe impresses me every time. It's so easy yet so rewarding. I usually reduce the spinach, add mushrooms and cover with thinly sliced tomatoes. It makes for a delicious and nutritional meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommaPintler
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was a great quiche filling. I forgot the onion, but it didn't hurt the flavor much. I made baking powder biscuits and made mini quiches in muffins tins. This recipe made enough filling for 18 mini muffins. I baked them for the full 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaPintler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Great recipe. Last night at 6:30 pm I discovered that the leftovers I planned to use for dinner were gone, and suddenly needed to scramble to get something ready by 7:30. This came together in a hurry. I only gave it 4 stars because it hardly seemed like enough filling for the crust. However, increasing the amount of filling would also increase the baking time, so maybe it was just as well this way. I'll definitely make this again. I didn't have Swiss, so just added some extra Cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Absolutely did not work out for me and I love tofu. Could be because I don't like quiche. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I love making this. It's so easy, and tastes great. I cook the onion and garlic first, and I add some diced ham for some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States