Eggless Tofu Spinach Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
This is a delicious recipe for vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike. I have played around with it a bit at times adding different seasonings or different cheeses, but have remained true to the original poster. This is a keeper and great for breakfast, brunch, lunch, dinner, picnics, you name it. As a vegetarian, it was an easy to make meal that tasted great and I couldn't taste the tofu. In fact, I don't necessarily like the taste of raw tofu, but if you compare that to say chicken or any other meat that you simply stuck in the oven without proper preparation or seasoning, you probably would say it tasted pretty bad, too. If you are unsure about it, honestly try it once before saying that you don't like it. It's a great dish that everyone will enjoy. Just save yourself some grief and don't tell anyone that it has tofu in it. :) UPDATE: I highly recommend prebaking the crust for at least 10 minutes to get your crust to hold up well for this recipe. If you don't, it's ok, but it is even better when it is prebaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
The Texture was amazingly like a normal Quiche. The taste was wonderful, I went without the crust as one of the other posts had suggested. It was wonderful, will definitely make again! To add a little "egg" coloring I added 1tsp of powdered Mustard. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScullyKel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
My husband dislikes the idea of tofu anything, but he LOVED this dish. He ate it for lunch and dinner the same day and he even knew it was tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
This dish goes so fast at my house that I double the recipe, omit the crust and bake in a casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
Even my husband (tofu hater) had no idea this quiche wasn't made with eggs. I'll cut down on the spinach next time I make it, but otherwise it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
My whole family loved this. Just as good as w/ eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
My husband and I love this dish. Whenever I make it, it never lasts long. Very yummy the next morning heated for breakfast. To me this is a perfect quiche...no eggs and lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
My husband can't get enough of this stuff! We love the idea of eggless quiche! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This recipe rocks! I made this for brunch for a group of friends, vegetarians and meat-eaters included, and everyone agreed that it was better than regular egg quiches they had tried. My husband is allergic to eggs, so this was a godsend for a breakfast recipe! I can't wait to make it again. A few changes/suggestions: I used a whole wheat crust, and I sauteed the onions and garlic before adding them into the tofu/spinach mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
great recipe!!! I used a 12oz package of Tofu and it does make it better. I also sub. the milk with soy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States