Eggless Tofu Spinach Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Soft, medium, or firm tofu? I am new to using tofu at all. I saw the posts that recommend rinsing and drying it. I'd like to try this, but I likely get once chance with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
My husband is allergic to eggs and he loved the fact that he could finally eat a quiche! I sauteed the mushrooms with an onion and the garlic. Then, added it to the tofu mix with spinach, feta cheese, and mozzarella. I made one with crust and another in an oiled dish with sweet potato on the bottom like another reviewer suggested. My husband liked the sweet potato one better. Very tasty and adaptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Delicious! I'm new to incorporating tofu into my diet (this is the first thing I've ever made with it), and I was so pleasantly suprised at how wonderful the taste and texture of this quiche is - at only about half the calories and far less cholesterol than the versions with eggs and cream. I used fresh spinach instead of frozen (I fried it in a little olive oil just until it shriveled so it would all fit in the pie crust), and I added a little ceyenne and extra garlic powder into the tofu and soy milk mixture. Additionally, since I'm not a vegetarian, I couldn't resist adding a little turkey bacon! OMG, that put it over the top! I fried up six slices (1 for each serving), diced them up, and stirred them into the final mixture. The turkey bacon only adds 10-15 calories per serving, and a ton of flavor. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I was shocked how good this tasted with the tofu... I did not make it with the crust, used pepper jack cheese. It is definitely a very excellent option to egg based quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This was sooo good! We took the advice to add mushrooms and lined the pie pan with sweet potatos instead of a pie crust. I also used feta instead of swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I've been making Tofu Egg Quiche a lot lately---using half a block of tofu and 3 eggs. Tonight I will try it with all tofu. I saute half an onion, lots fresh garlic, a whole red bell pepper, and mushrooms. I thaw out a 10 oz pkg frozen spinach in microwave while pre-baking crusts for 10 minutes. For the dairy I use reduced- fat Celtic Cheddar from Trader Joe's and a little fresh parmesan and 1/2 cup non-fat milk. Salt and pepper of course and (optional) pinch red pepper, cayenne paprika or dry mustard. Quiche may be one of those dishes that's not easy to mess up 'cuz it always tastes good from the basic recipe with many variations. It's the crust I need to try it without. I know that's where the fat and calories are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
OMG this was sooo good! Even my meat loving husband and his buddy loved this and had seconds (and thirds)! I made a few changes to the recipe-I sauteed mushrooms, white onions, and fresh spinach then added that to the tofu mixture with everything else. I also added a few shakes of dried mustard powder. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was excellent! I used mozarella instead of swiss, and I blended the spinach with the tofu and milk in the first step, so my 3 year old would eat it, and it was a huge hit in our house! also I put a light layer of cheese on top, it is a quick & easy delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thegreengirls

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenTrend
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This was great! My husband had no idea it was tofu! We eat tofu often and this was a great change from the usual. I'm looking forward to making this again with different veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katerkat

Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States