Eggless Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
Very good! I have made this recipe twice. The first time I pretty much stuck to the recipe and my husband thought the dish was too sweet and cinnamon tasting, although I thought it was fine. The second time I made it for our Christmas Eve dinner and used 50% more potatoes but kept the rest of the ingrediant amounts the same. It was also good that way - the topping adds plenty of sweetness to the dish. I noticed some reviewers thought the dish was too mushy but I found it to be the same consistency as other sweet potato dishes I have had before. I made this dish the night before (without the topping) and stored it in the refrigerator overnight. That way I just had to mix up the topping and put it in the oven on the day of our dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I should have listened to my instincts when they told me NOT to melt the butter for the topping!! It turned into one pastey lump, not struesel-like, like I'm sure it was intented to be. Overall the taste was pretty yummy, and I would make it again...but next time I would cut the butter into the topping mix COLD--or barely softened--like you would for a regular struesel-type mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This is a great recipe, largely because it can be varied a great deal with excellent results everytime. I have made this as directed (very rich and sweet, much like a pie), used cream and oj, but no condensed milk (very nice lighter orangey flavor), using rinsed canned yams and no sugar (works fine)... My only note of caution would be that on the topping, do not add the flour to the butter, add the sugar and nuts to the butter, then the flour, this avoids making a paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This recipe is phenomenal. I made it for my school's Thanksgiving feast and got so many requests for the recipe that I had to go make copies! I do believe it takes longer than 15 minutes to prep, however. I know it takes a while to cook the sweet potatoes. I use fresh ones which take at least half an hour in the microwave or longer in the oven. But, once the whole thing is done.... Mmmmm!!! The other thing to remember is to add the liquids slowly when blending so that the whole thing becomes creamy, otherwise it'll be very thick. I tend to add a little more o.j. and/or evaporated milk if that happens. On the whole, however, this is a great recipe- one I'll be making this year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
I tried this recipe for Thanksgiving (my first time cooking) and it was wonderful, I usually don't really care for sweet potatoes, I was mainly making it for my hubby, but this was very yummy (especially the topping) I ended up making it again for Christmas the only difference is this time I used canned swt. potatoes just to cut down on cooking time and prepared the dish the night before. It turned out even better this time around. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
Love this recipe. I added more butter to the brown sugar topping. I also added 1/3 cup golden rum to the sweet potato filling. Wonderful flavor--will be making this again. I like the fact that there are no eggs in it (lol...although I did add calories with booze!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
I used this recipe in a dorm kitchen and it turned out amazing, even in such strenuous circumstances. The streusel-like topping is only enhanced by the addition of allspice; allspice also makes an excellent addition to the casserole itself. I found that steaming the cubed sweet potatoes in my rice cooker for about 30 minutes made for an ideal mashing consistency. They smashed right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
This is scrumptious! Thanks so much Carolyn. Considering sweet potatoes are so varied in size does anyone know how many mashed cups of potatoes to use?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
Tastes just like the version with eggs, in my opinion. I couldn't taste the orange juice at all but then I didn't really want a strong orange juice taste so that was fine by me. Unfortunately I always seem to overcook the sweet potatoes so watch out for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
TASTE GREAT, TRY USING IT IN A GRAHAM CRACKER CRUST TO MAKE A PIE AMAZING RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States