Eggless Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
well, initially i meant to make an egg cookie. then i found out that we had none. so i foudnthis recipe. i was then further frustrated by the fact that we had no shortening, so used butter, and then used a milk-vinegar substitute rather than buttermilk. I was afraid that they would turn out terrible, but they're GREAT, and it was well worth the frustration. oh, and chocolate chips top them off nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
These cookies are fabulous! I substituted butter for the shortening and 2% milk for the buttermilk and they turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hales Corners, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Awesome! Made these for my husband's birthday. I used real butter instead of shortening, and white splenda instead of white sugar...1/2 C light peanut butter and 1/2 C reg. peanut butter (all I had!) and the reast of the ingredients as called...they are delicious, great texture...evenmy son who hates peanut butter had some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calatta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Without a doubt, these are the best peanut butter cookies! Made 4 dozen for our school bake-sale... Best seller! Used 1 cup sour cream to replace buttermilk. Cut the cooking time down to 8 minutes in convection oven. A 1.5 inch ball makes a 3 inch cookie. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
My son is allergic to eggs and peanuts and a long list of other things. I made these cookies using NoNuts brand golden Peabutter (it's made from golden brown peas) in place of the peanut butter. They turned out so delicious! It’s a new family favorite! Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I added the vanilla as suggested by another reviewer and had to substitute skim milk for buttermilk, but these turned out amazing!! I just pulled them out of the oven and I already cannot stop eating them. My son, a cookie critic and connoisseur, loves these! I only had half the amount of shortening so I added two tablespoons of canola oil and they still turned out fine. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Like so many others, I was low on eggs. :) But I wanted to bake cookies! I used ½ cup margarine and ½ cup apple sauce in place of the shortening, I used ½ cup white sugar instead of a whole cup, and I used 2% milk instead of buttermilk. I got 5 dozen out of the batch, and they needed 12-13 minutes in the oven. I think the lesser amount of sugar might have affected the texture of the dough (I prefer roll-and-flatten cookies to drop-and-flatten ones), but the cookies, while not quite as beautiful, came out tasting great. Thanks for sharing, L.J.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I, too, was out of eggs. My husband requested peanut butter cookies. With a great deal of skeptisism, I made these cookies and to my delight and surprise...THEY ARE WONDERFUL!!! The best peanut butter cookies I've ever had! I made a double batch and will be bringing them to Thanksgiving dinner. My children and husband LOVE them. As do I. Oh...I added chocolate chips and half chunky almond butter half peanut butter. VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
For peanut butter lovers, this recipe is awesome. Usually, I'm not tempted to sneak a bite until the baked goods are in the oven, aromatizing my house. But this time, just mixing the dough was enough to make my mouth water in anticipation of the goodness to come. Despite lacking several key ingredients, the recipe was still very forgiving of my substitutions. Applesauce in place of butter, molasses in place of sugar (except I used only 1/4 the amount of sugar called for in the recipe), half the amount of white flour was replaced with wheat, and finally I had no baking powder. Due to my extreme altercations, the cookies came out to be more like "muffies". But the peanut buttery flavor was definitely enjoyed by all and happily devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
my son is allergic to eggs and I am always looking for new recipes to try...this is great!! I subsituted buttermilk to 2% and used butter for shortening, used splenda white sugar and splenda brown sugar...less calories great taste, only baked for 10 min so they are chewy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States