Eggless Milkless Butterless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I have been making this cake for over 30 years...it is actually the first cake I ever made all on my own as a young child. The only thing my mom (who got the recipe from her mom) and I have done differently, is to bake it in a jellyroll pan. This makes for more of a bar-like treat, rather than a thicker cake, and helps with the density of the cake. We also grease and flour the pan, rather than just grease it, making it even easier to lift the bars out when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Made this recipe but switched it up a bit, took out the raisins and the allspice and just put a bit extra nutmeg and cinnamon. Turned out great! Whole Family loved it. Was soft and just amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is from the depression era. My Mom used to make it after the depression because her Mom made it for her during the depression. It was originally called "Poor Man's Cake" as no ration coupons were needed to be used (or purchased on the black market) for butter, eggs, or milk. Just be careful not to over bake so that it does not dry out. The original recipe calls for it to be made with bacon drippings. If you have these, it really does make the cake more moist and flavorful; but, I know it's not good for you....My Mom said that my Grandmother kept a jar on the stove for bacon drippings. They wasted nothing in those days...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This cake was one of my favorites from childhood and I am over half a century old. My grandmother made it as did my mother. We always did it in a tube pan and served it with homemade penuche/caramel icing. I even entered it in the county fair as a teenager and won first premium! I love that it can be made totally vegan for bake sales where people look for that type of thing. It's still the one I request from my mom for my birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
My mother made this recipe often and the family loved it. It is dense, but my people were German, altho my mother was not. If you are not vegan, cover with buttercream frosting with healthy does of peanut butter to flavor it. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
** An update after 3 days: This cake holds up surprisingly well. I did not refrigerate it, or wrap it up very tightly, but it was still moist and soft after having it out on the counter. After trying everything to try and enjoy my cake, I finally took a bit of almond chocolate milk that I had handy, a bit of malibu, and bacardi rum, and let a section of the cake soak in it; needless to say, it was great! I only wish I did it sooner. Try to rotate it a bit so the rum mixture can soak through the entire cake, unless you can submerge the entire cake in the mixture (but that's alot of rum mixture to use). Try and avoid one particular side to get overly soggy; other than that, I just found a new remedy for my not-so great turnouts! Original review: You do need to bake it for a bit longer (for me, 15 minutes longer), but my cake itself was just okay. I only had cinnamon and a little bit of vanilla and nutmeg, so maybe that's why it didn't taste all that interesting. I'm glad I was able to make a cake without the dairy products, but the flavor was just really ambiguous that I'm not too sure if I'd finish it. To me, It resembled a dairy-free wheat pancake (in taste, so I drizzled a bit of pancake syrup over a slice), and, I figure it can also be served with a savory sauce as its not too sweet. I probably won't make this again, but I'm sure for those who enjoy spice cakes, they can make it work to their taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This was excellent!! I used coffee instead of plain water and omitted the allspice since I didn't have any. I will be making this again, it's a nice little breakfast/tea time bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Fantastic! I used a full teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon of cloves instead of the nutmeg and allspice, and i threw in a half a cup of fresh cranberries, too. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Delicious. Made this for my husband's grandma who is on a super restrictive diet because she has kidney failure. I left out the raisins and it was a HUGE hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Outrageous! I was looking for a cake without milk butter and eggs because my cupboards were bare and luckily had the ingredients listed in this recipe. I was pleasantly surprised to find this cake is almost exactly a cake recipe I have been searching for for years. If anyone remembers the old A&P grocery stores and their Ann Page brand of baked goods this recipe is as close to Spanish Bar Cake as you will find. Now all I have to do is find a recipe that resembles the frosting. I did have to bake this a little longer than suggested and had to remove it from the oven before the center was 100% done but I didn't mind the tiny bit of the center that was still a little bit gooey since the recipes did not include eggs. Although I have eggs, milk and butter in the house now, I will be making it again today to freeze and give as gifts for Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States