Eggless Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2000
We have completely rewritten this recipe for clarity and we have also added flour to it. It should work well now. We always appreciate comments about bad recipes from users so that we may correct them immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I saw the bad reviews on this recipe and I almost didn't try it, but I am so glad that I did! These gingerbread cookies taste so much like the real thing it's uncanny. My daughter has an egg allergy, so anytime we can do holiday baking together it is such a treat. Thanks for submitting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This is a great eggless cookie. I didn't even bother to roll them out. Just used a small ice cream scoop, rolled them in additional white sugar and pushed them down with the bottom of a glass. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2000
This is possibly the worst cookie recipe I've ever tried to make. I felt a strong responsiblity to review this. I followed the directions PRECISELY, and what I got was a sizzling pile of smokey molasses junk in my oven that nearly ruined my pan! For the first time in my 25 years of baking, I actually threw away the remainder of my batter. My house stinks and all I can say is that this is the biggest waste of ingredients because there MUST be something missing. I realize that eggless recipes don't always come out perfectly, but this is ridiculous. This is awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Made these tonight for a function where a child is allergic to milk and eggs and they came out GREAT! We used cookie cutters and followed the recipe to a T and they taste wonderful. Will be using this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kel Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
The revised recipe with flour works great! just let dough chill in the refridgerator for half hour before you roll out and cut into shapes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
These are actually very good. I followed the recipe with the exception of the following: 1. I made half a batch 2. I used 1 cup spelt/ 1 cup white flour 3. I used becel olive oil spread instead of shortening. 4. I dropped from teaspoon and flattened as suggested by another reviewer. 5. And I added a pinch of seasalt. The result was awesome & vegan. Bonus: house smells so yummy!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
If it were possible to give this recipe a negative star rating, I would. Two minutes into the oven and my house was filled with smoke. I almost had to throw away my pan. I followed the directions exactly. Maybe there are some ingredients missing or the measurements are way off. These are horrible...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Finally an good eggless recipe! I'm kinda sick of people posting recipes in the dairy-free section that contain eggs. I don't eat eggs. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
This is really nice. My dad is a vegan, and can't eat meat or dairy products. The holiday season is filled with Gingerbread recipes with milk, which we can substitute with plain soymilk, and eggs, which we can't substitute anything for. This recipe is a lifesaver, and a heartwarmer.My father loves this gingerbread recipe, and asks for it specificaly every christmas. Thanks to the really fast baking and prep time, the cookies are done at the longest time of 30 minutes. Thank you so much for entering this great recipe. I seriously don't know what i would do without it. This is the most thoughtful recipe I have ever seen, and I thank you Annette. The first time we made these cookies was the first time my father had homemade, warm, and delious gingerbread cookies in a long time. Thank You So Much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States