Eggless Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These were okay until they cooled. Now they are hockey pucks. I'm going to give this recipe some credit by saying maybe I baked them too long (first time I've used a dark cookie sheet), but I will NOT be trying these again. They were also pretty easy to make, the consistency was right after sticking the dough in the refridgerator for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Pretty good. I baked them for 7 minutes. I didn't roll them out, just spooned on to sheet and flattened with a glass. Not as pretty as the picture but not bad tasting at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Delicious. My vegan friends adored it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ethan the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
these cookies are awesome! i followed the recipe however, i made a half batch and used vegetable oil instead of shortening, then added 1 tbsp soy milk when dough was a little too dry to roll out. it turned out perfet. rolled two logs and cut into rounds like shortbread. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I couldn't even wait to finish baking them to write my review. My son has an egg allergy so I was thrilled to find this recipe. However, the dough was way too dry and took me half the night to get to a consistency that I was able to roll out (adding water and working with my hands). Next time I would cut down on the flour and then only add as needed. The taste was fine, would never know the egg is missing. Drop cookies would probably work better but be prepared if you want to roll out for Gingerbread Men!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
These are actually very good. I followed the recipe with the exception of the following: 1. I made half a batch 2. I used 1 cup spelt/ 1 cup white flour 3. I used becel olive oil spread instead of shortening. 4. I dropped from teaspoon and flattened as suggested by another reviewer. 5. And I added a pinch of seasalt. The result was awesome & vegan. Bonus: house smells so yummy!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This is a great eggless cookie. I didn't even bother to roll them out. Just used a small ice cream scoop, rolled them in additional white sugar and pushed them down with the bottom of a glass. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
The revised recipe with flour works great! just let dough chill in the refridgerator for half hour before you roll out and cut into shapes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I saw the bad reviews on this recipe and I almost didn't try it, but I am so glad that I did! These gingerbread cookies taste so much like the real thing it's uncanny. My daughter has an egg allergy, so anytime we can do holiday baking together it is such a treat. Thanks for submitting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Finally an good eggless recipe! I'm kinda sick of people posting recipes in the dairy-free section that contain eggs. I don't eat eggs. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States