Eggless Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by johnleblanc
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This is a great one whether you're vegan or NOT. Aunt Patty's Blackstrap Molasses makes for a richer experience, Brer Rabbit for a sweeter one. Wax paper makes the roll out process neater/easier, reducing excess flour mess. Tomato sauce can makes an ideal cookie cutter when rolled to 1/4" thickness. Usually 6 minutes cook time for first batch, 5 minutes for all subsequent. Perfect crispness happens while they still seem a little gooey off the pan. Makes 2 1/2 pans of 16, the way I roll and cut 'em. Outstanding ice cream sandwich building material here. We're lucky we have Nicoco across the street, world-class local vegan ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnleblanc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
A week before payday, and I had to find a cookie recipe that uses only ingredients in my pantry. This one fit the bill. I used a 3" cookie cutter and cooked for 7 minutes. I will add more spice, and roll in sugar, before baking next time. The dough consistency would be perfect for gingerbread men. Note: These cookies harden considerably after they cool; if you want them to remain chewy, cook for less than 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
UPDATE!!!! This is honestly my new favorite cookie!!! I made them yesterday ate another one today THEY ARE EVEN BETTER!!! IM HOOKED! I cant stop eating them not good for my waiste....lol I am very im pretty impressed with this recipe after reading some of the reviews i was a bit nervous how they were going to turn out! but im glad i went ahead and made them! Delicious! mine look as pretty as the picture! crispy around the edges and chewy in the middle!I dont even like molasses cookies and i cant stop eating these!! very good! oh and the dough was wonderful to work with i rolled into balls roled them in sugar and flattened with a glass!! i recomend this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This is a great cookie. It made me think of the ginger snaps my Mom used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I used ginger paste and I could barely taste the ginger in the cookie. However, they ended up tasting just like Archway molasses cookies, which are some of my favorite. My daughter is allergic to eggs so I wanted a Christmas cookie she could have. This made a tasty cookie. I only used three cups of flour and rolled them into balls, coated them with sugar and pressed them with the bottom of a glass like someone else suggested and they turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJames

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
These cookies were very good. I actually replaced the ginger with pumpkin spice (because I was all out at the moment), added a touch of vanilla, and sprinkled the tops of the cookies with sugar. This is a great quick and basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These cookies taste good, but I did have trouble with them maintaining their shape. Maybe it was because I used gluten-free flour. I tried to do cut-outs, but the cookies just spread, so I just gave up and made them all round. Having said that, with gluten-free flour, these cookies are safe for all food allergies I can think of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Made these tonight for a function where a child is allergic to milk and eggs and they came out GREAT! We used cookie cutters and followed the recipe to a T and they taste wonderful. Will be using this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kel Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
GREAYT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maya Papaya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Great cookie to make with little kids who try to eat the batter (since there is no raw egg in it) and they were very tasty as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States